We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stormont Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location a bit far away from the city, which I don’t really mind as I need to sleep, the staff was really nice, she checked me inn fast and professional , a big clean room, big and confy bed, big screen TV, and got everything what I need.
The restaurant was really good, the food was tasty, I ate twice in the hotel restaurant, and the variety of cocktail was also good.
Only ordering room service late at night was a bit hard, ended up I ordered pizza from domino 
I would for sure recommend this hotel to my friends if they need some rest, despite the location , I really enjoy the service and the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With the new bus lanes in place it is easier to get to the city centre only takes 15 mins so if you feel like shopping or exploring its much easier now.
Thanks for the feedback on room service issues I am addressing that with night staff and chef.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    146
    58
    27
    18
See reviews for
53
116
41
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The main reason for booking Stormont Hotel was the free car parking that was available ( I refuse to consider any hotel that charge for this ). Room was spacious , clean and quiet ,facing out onto the gates of Stormont Buildings. Staff were friendly & helpful. Buffet breakfast was exceptionally good , plenty of variety & fresh , not dried up like most establishments serving hot food. Again staff here were extremely helpful. Also with the large crowd on Sunday morning there was no waiting around. We ate in the " La Scala Bistro " on Saturday evening. Luckily we had booked it on arrival on the Friday evening as it was completely booked out on Sat night. As it turned out the meal in this restaurant was OK , nothing to get excited about. Having read some of the negative comments regarding this hotel , Im afraid that I could not add to them. We had a pleasant stay here & would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
I am glad you enjoyed you weekend break hope to see you again soon.
La Scala does get very busy at the weekend with non residents as well, booking was agreat idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely peacful hotel set in a lovely area and easy access to Stormont itself, food in the bistro was also of a high standard and very reasonably priced. Bedroom comfortable and spacious. Staff helpful also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review .
Glad your stay was great hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Flying visit to Belfast was enhanced by a stay at this great hotel. Very comfortable beds, designer bathroom, white company toiletries. Breakfast was good too. The optional whiskey in you porridge nice touch but not for me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
Maybe you will stay a little longer next time.
hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmessan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed over night during a short trip to belfast, upon arrival check in was very quick
The room was very spacious and the bed was both big and comfortable,
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly.
The only negative point was the sore feet ended up with when the hot water from the shower burned them as the cold tap was simple turning without any water coming out,
A room close by was provided for us to use the shower,
Would return here when visiting belfast again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for highlighting the maintainence issue this has now been sorted.
look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Husband and I went to a Charity Event on Saturday night, it was very very good. The room in which they used was set out very nice the Meal was lovely and the service was very good nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything. Would definately go again.
We didnt stay over night as we didnt have too far to go but have stayed in the past and found the rooms and breakfast to be very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed the event .
Maybe you will make it to one of our party nights and stay over and get the full experience.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My experience at the hotel was excellent, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and service was to a very high standard, the breakfast was plentiful with a variety of options available.
My only negative point was the wifi or lack of it, you have to pay for the internet which is provided by BT Openworld but signal strength in my room was poor, would of thought it would of been provided free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pos ta review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We do have a small charge for the BTopenzone but this way we can keep it secure and no one can acceess you account.
Look forward to welcoming you back o the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stormont Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 110 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. Guests can make use of the fitness suite within the hotel or enjoy complimentary use of the David Lloyd Centre nearby. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.