We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Save Saved
You added Europa Hotel - Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Co Antrim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed one night for an anniversary. We had afternoon tea which was great, we got a great table at the window overlooking the street, so great for people watching. Room was nice, and sevice was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear NCK72,

Thank you so much for posting such a brilliant comment on your recent visit to the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you got to experience service we offer at the Europa Hotel.We would love to have you return and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,070
    476
    200
    104
    67
See reviews for
210
673
125
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport south wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is superb, Every cab in Belfast seems to be within 100 yards of front door. 30 yards to iconic Crown Bar. The Europa has a lot of natural advantages but what impressed me most was quality of service from all members of staff. The greeting, checking in and out was quick and professional. All requests for information, advise and even a lighter were handled with good grace and humour even during the powercut! The guys in Lobby and Piano bars were also excellent. With regard to room it was not quite as good . Bed fine, shower brilliant, but one too many chairs in room gave it a cramped feeling and probably was not needed. Will we return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear spartahouse,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your brilliant feedback to our staff members and especially our Reception and Piano Lounge Teams. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfortable but bathroom awful with blocked sink, leaking shower all over the floor, broken taps, hair dryer weak and very old. The common areas were also frayed around the edges and need a good renovation
All in all not a luxury hotel at all, glad only one night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear WiltshireLuxury,
Thank you for contacting us via tripadvisor. In order to investigate these remarks, we would require further information. We would request that you contact us on marketing@eur.hastingshotels.com with the room number to look into this matter. We would also be very interested to know about the common areas of which you have written about. This is most certainly not reflective of our normally very high standards and apologise if this was not conveyed.
Thank you again and look forward to hearing from you.
Many thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was not staying in the hotel but was over in Belfast working. When my Mum joined me for Mothers Day one of my colleagues recommended I take her here for afternoon tea.

This was absolutely amazing on the first floor sitting right at the window looking over to The Crown and across the city. The food was absolutely excellent and the waiting staff kept offering us more food even thought there was no way we could possibly finish everything on the beautifully displayed stand. We tried a couple of different teas and they were excellent.

Room Tip: read the captions on the pictures on the staircase, they tell the story of the hotel which is pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Booky_Alice,
Thank you for your wonderful praise on our Afternoon Tea selection, wonderful ambience in the Lounge and our accommodating, caring staff who go the extra mile to ensure a great experience. I am delighted that we were able to make Mother's Day, one to remember.
Thank you and hope to see you again for business or leisure or a bit of both.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in the Europa on Friday 15 March 2013 with my young son. Had a fantastic room, very comfortable (tables were a bit dated) but otherwise ok. I thought the room was a bit expensive given its size and was shocked to find that I had to pay for wi-fi in the room, £6.30 for an hr and a half, it's free in bar area and lounge but if you have children then you really need it in the room. At approx 4.30 in the morn the fire alarm went off and we were very frightened, as we were getting ready to evacuate the room we were told it was a false alarm. When checking out next morn reception staff didn't apologise for disruption until I mentioned it. Very disappointing

Room Tip: Be sure to use wi fi in public area. Very expensive otherwise. Don't know why when budget hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Aodhanga,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our fantastic rooms. The room you were in was our smallest room type and part of the original building, but larger rooms are available for a small cost. For future stays, contact the hotel directly and you can be sure of the best available rate. We do charge for wifi in the bedrooms as is group policy. We have passed your comments onto our Head Office for review.
I do appreciate that fire alarms are disturbing, especially when you have a child with you. When it was announced as a false alarm, a public apology was made to all guests for the inconvenience at the time.
I do hope this would not discourage you from staying with us again.
Many thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at hotel over St Patrick weekend, arrived at hotel early 11.15 - 11.30, did not expect to get a room but hoped we could leave our suitcase. On arrival at reception to our surprise Andy/Andrew upgraded us to a executive adapted room with no hassle, thank you Andy. Room was get be it at the rear of hotel which meant it was away from the bussle of Great Victoria Street. No evening meal but not disappionted at breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear WTH,
Thanks a million for posting this great review. This truly means a lot to us. We are delighted that Andy was able to offer such great service.
Thanks so much and please come back soon.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a business trip so only stayed one night. The room was excellent and bed extremely comfortable. The food was very good, although the portions were huge - who needs 3 Portobello mushrooms? The staff were very personable. I recommend this to anyone who needs to relax a bit while on business.

Room Tip: I have been twice and both rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Pictonnz,
Thank you for your loyal custom and for taking the time to post a review. We have recently purchased our lovely new 'cloud beds' and its great to read that such an investment has borne such fruit to all of our guests. We agree, a comfortable bed makes for an excellent stay.
Thank you also for reporting on our Causerie Restaurant and the good quality of the food. We have noted your comments on portion size.
Thank you kindly for your recommendation and hope to see you again.
Thank you
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel - Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.