We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room, breakfast very poor !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Europa Hotel - Belfast to your Saves list
Europa Hotel - Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous room, breakfast very poor !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the service is excellent. I found breakfast really disappointing... The restaurant was full so we were ushered to the bar to eat breakfast. All food including cooked breakfast was self service so the poached eggs etc. don't manage too well when left to sit on a hot plate for a while. The selection of food was poor, the coffee was awful and the food itself left a lot to be desired ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear vonserelli,

Thank you taking the time to post your recent review of your stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay with ourselves. My apologies on the quality of the breakfast you received, I have taken this up with our Head Chef to ensure this does not happen again. I hope this issue did not affect your overall stay. Belfast is such a fantastic City and we would love to have you return to ourselves. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    561
    246
    113
    77
See reviews for
251
780
150
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed here last night to see Van Morrison. The hotel is beautiful. The foyer is stunning and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are average size with a massive queen size bed. The rooms are clean and modern and the bathroom has a large shower. (No bath) . Spent 2 hours in the ballroom which was extremely large and beautifully decorated. The meal was delicious and plentiful. The Europa is situated a little out of the main section of Belfast, but it is an easy 5 minute walk to the town hall and main shopping strips. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Great view from the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear RuthieAstbury,

Thank you so much for posting such a brilliant comment on your recent visit to the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you got to experience the full service we have to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our staff members. We would love to have you return to the Europa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Hills, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I have visited Belfast on numerous occasions and always choose the Europa to stay. It is central to everything from shops,transport and the nightlife. The reception and Concierge staff are very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very clean and most importantly the beds are of exceptional size and comfort. The piano bar is great. Bar staff very professional and huge thumbs up to the staff and their cocktail making especially Matt's Strawberry Daquiri's - SENSATIONAL. I would recommend the Europa every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Katrina C,
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed the other occasions on which you stayed with us. Thank you for your loyal custom, it really means a lot to us. Matt also thanks you for mentioning his cocktail making skills. The cocktails really are great.
Hopefully this won't be your last visit and hope you have the opportunity to come back to us again.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

great,always go there when in belfast..Iknow that i will always get a good meal,everything is first class and i cant fult anything ,I only wish there was one in Enniskillen so come on we would love it...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Melody P,
Love, love, love the review. Great to read about the Causerie Restaurant and how it meets your expectations on every occasion. Being in Enniskillen just means you have to make more excuses to come to Belfast. Thank you again for this lovely review.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From start to finish the staff at the Europa could not have been more helpful.. The opportunity was given for a free upgrade to executive rooms that made our stay even more relaxing and pleasurable.. Didn't eat in the hotel but believe the restaurant provided a first class service. Really friendly atmosphere around the hotel and would definitely go back again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Robin1102,
I am delighted to hear how relaxing and pleasurable your stay was from start to finish here in the hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my two daughters and partners spent a lovely weekend in this hotel recently. I had used the restrooms here last July with my late husband and we had said we would come back and stay here in the future. but sadly my husband passed away suddenly in Dec . But my lovely girls booked for us all to go . We were greeted by two very nice gentlemen at reception they looked after us very well and even upgraded us to lovely big rooms . p.s.we didnt mention why we were staying there.It is in a busy area and very near the shops . We didnt eat there as it was a bit pricey. But there is plenty of nice cafe nearby.Rooms were spotless and the beds were the comfiest id ever slept in. Will Definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Molly190754,
I really can't say how pleased we are to hear that you had such a lovely stay with your family here in the hotel.
I am also pleased that our reception staff looked after you so well. I would also like this opportunity to say we are sorry about your sudden loss and sorry he didn't get the chance to experience also.
I really am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were immaculate, great central location in Belfast. We had stayed in the Galgorm Hotel a few days before & no comparison with regard to breakfast here which was far superior. Menus explain were all the local produce eggs, bacon etc are sourced from. Piano bar (residents) has a lovely atmosphere as does the main restaurant which has a great menu and not that expensive. Manager James McGinn and all the staff were excellent and we would look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Delder101,
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review.
Thank you also appreciating our locally sourced ingredients and the superior taste it brings to our food. It's also really lovely to hear that you found our rooms to be immaculate, our piano lounge to have wonderful atmosphere and our Causerie Restaurant to be of good merit also.
Thank you again.
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel - Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.