We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay for valentines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Save Saved
You added Europa Hotel - Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay for valentines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed on Sat 16th Feb for the valentines package and we were fairly happy. Few negatives, room far too warm and no way to turn heat down, reception didn't care. We were kept waiting 30 minstrel after our booked dinner slot and when I asked for a complimentary drink reception got us this but the restaurant charged and also failed to give me my £4 change, their service was poor so I didn't intend on letting them keep it. Room very nice, comfy bed, good bathroom and breakfast fantastic -excellent selection. In my opinion this is a fair and balanced review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear chris_haugh,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with ourselves. I apologise for the service you received in our Restaurant and I have taken these issues up with our Restaurant Manager to ensure we continue to strive to provide the most efficient and highest quality service. I hope this issue did not affect your overall stay ad we would love to have you return to the Europa Hotel where I am confident we can improve on your last stay. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    546
    242
    110
    76
See reviews for
239
755
144
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Special Valentine deal of dinner B and B with a glass of bubbley and a pink Hastings rubber ducky. Beautiful room and fab service . This hotel is right in the centre of Belfast where there s a great buzz. Staff were super. Friendly and professional

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear larrylamb,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Hotel has to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a lovely late Valentine's stay at the Europa. We have been fortunate to stay in quite a few of the other most highly rated hotels in the city and we can now add the Europa to this list. Our room whilst on the small size - which isn't an issue for a one night stay, was clean, cosy and comfortable. The bed in particular was probably the best I have ever slept in! We stopped for a quick lunch in the Piano bar and although the staff were busy and it was nearly full with bookings for Afternoon Tea, they managed to find us a quiet table and chairs away from the busier spots.

After reading other reviews about the quality of service and food at Sunday morning breakfast, I can safely say that it was the complete opposite for us. We received impeccable service from very polite and helpful young servers as well as an excellent breakfast. We were brought newspapers and checked on a couple of times to ensure that all was to our liking. Again, all whilst the staff were busy and the restaurant almost at capacity.

Check in/out was a breeze with the friendly front desk staff and we left feeling well rested and relaxed. Well done Europa!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear toast29,

Thank you so much for posting such a brilliant comment on your recent visit to the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you got to experience the full service we have to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our all staff members. We would love to have you return to the Europa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First time to stay although I have attended functions here in the past.Cannot fault the overall experience from the helpful concierge who took care of our bags and car, reception who were relaxed and professional, Matthew in the piano bar who looked after our every need, the floor staff who served us afternoon tea as we watched the "world" from the window rush by, to the kind and helpful cleaners who ensured we had all the tea and coffee we could wish for. Parking the car did cost but the location meant we didnt need a taxi all weekend. Food excellent in the local restaurants and Saturday afternooon music in Robinsons across the road excellent. Overall a home from home and a pampering we wont forget. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear liam d,

Thank you sharing your review on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves. I have passed your great comments on to our staff members especially Matthew. We would love to have you stay again ourselves at the Europa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall trip was excellent only staff in restaurant were very slow and never once asked us was everything ok and would we like any other drinks dessert took 45 mins to come! But actually hotel was brilliant

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Dpleonard,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with ourselves. I appreciate your feedback and we continually strive to improve our service levels. I have taken your comments on board regarding our staff and I can assure you we are monitoring their service levels closely. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay with ourselves and we would love to have you stay again with ourselves. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked the Valentines package for my wife and I was extremely disappointed, especially with our meal. We had to wait for nearly an hour between each course, had to ask for our plates to be cleared, had to ask for petit fours (which were meant to be included in the package), and had to ask three times for our champagne (also meant to be included). When the champagne did arrive, it was virtually thrown at us by a rushed young waiter, and my glass was oy half full! Our package was also meant to include a special Valentines duck, but despite several calls to housekeeping, we did not manage to get one. We also had to wait many hours for towels for our room. This hotel has great potential, but poor service lets it down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear gleep_uk,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would like to apologise on the level of service you received during your stay. I have taken your issues up with our team and I can assure you we are monitoring their service levels very closely. I am very sorry you did not receive the valentine’s duck which was included in your package. Please email my colleague Suzanne Wray at conf3@eur.hastingshotels.com with your postal address and we will get one across to you as soon as possible. I appreciate you where disappointed with your overall stay and we would love to have the chance for you to visit and stay with ourselves again where I am confident we can improve on your last stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comber
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying in the Europa hotel... & I will definitely be back!
My colleagues and I booked a triple room for the night of our work function in the hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! The reception and function staff were so friendly, helpful and courteous, in particular Mr Philip Murphy, who went out of his way to ensure that we all had a wonderful & memorable stay.
The function was great and the meal was absolutely beautiful.
Our room was superb. Three large extremely comfortable beds with plenty of space in the room for three people. (We were on the 4th floor and did not hear any street noise whatsoever.)
The breakfast was a delicious buffet and again the attentive staff were great in the restaurant.
I highly recommend this hotel for its location, comfort & terrific staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear c14asw,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Hotel has to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel - Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.