We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Save Saved
You added Europa Hotel - Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Belfast
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Europa in order to attend a two-and-a-half day conference, but my wife (who is from Northern Ireland) also joined me, so this is a hybrid business/couples review. I seldom have high hopes when it comes to large, city centre hotels, but the Europa bucked the trend. There were some problems: they were chaotically behind with room preparation for some reason, which meant that my room wasn't ready until 4pm. Not good. Nor was the fact that Housekeeping put the wrong size sheets on my bed. However, all of the staff - from cleaners through to serving staff, receptionists, everybody - were friendly and courteous to a level I was not expecting from a large operation like this. Public areas are clean and comfortable, especially the Piano Bar, and there is a very good, friendly atmosphere in this place. It is fantastically placed in the centre of the city, and is opposite the wonderful Crown Bar, owned by the National Trust and known for its superb historic interior. Food is locally sourced, and again is a cut above what one normally expects from large hotels. The breakfast when I was there was a little disappointing, but was certainly adequate and is in no way something that should put you off staying. The room itself was lovely - spotlessly clean, comfortable furniture and nice decor. A strong shower, bath and everything you would expect. Good size flat screen television and iPod dock. I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is 12 storeys high - I had a great view across the city from the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,177
    531
    231
    109
    73
See reviews for
236
739
141
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was in the perfect location to explore the city. The rooms were nice and big.The Bellman, Hugh Phillips was extremely nice and helpful. He found us the perfect place to eat. He got us into a fashion show during fashion week. When we left the hotel he gave our daughter some goodbye treats. He truly went above and beyond. It really made our entire stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Europa Was overwhelmed by the warmth of the welcome we received from Linda and Andy in reception Hughie the Concierge Breakfast on both days was delicious and service was excelent All staff we came in contact were most professional Cocktails in the Piano bar added to the relaxed atmosphere on the Friday evening Titanic Exhibition is a must see on a visit to Belfast Will definitely be returning to the Europa as it so central

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was here for a athletics event. Was provided with a huge room with all mod cons including a giant bed, large TV, ipod dock. Bathroom good, plenty of hot water, great water pressure. Slept really well, room quiet and well insulated. All very important factors as wanted to be fresh for my race.

Thought the hotel could improve with more toiletries, like body lotion. That said I didn't ask if any other complimentary toiletries were available.

The rate I paid inc breakfast. Good choice of hot and cold food and fruits etc, all buffet style. I prefer hot food not to be a buffet so this could improve.

All staff helpful and friendly at all times. At breakfast I was even found a banana by one of the team for me to take away, excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room, they may just upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night at the Europa. Very comfortable executive room, bed and pillows so comfy. Shower was amazing and made my stay. Rooms and public areas of a high standard of decor and cleanliness. Superb location. Very pleasant and friendly professional staff ( may I mention in particular Lynsey Carroll with whom I booked through and was a pleasure to deal with, very efficient and helpful). Breakfast was of a good standard.
Now the negatives, small issue of having requested extra bedding but same not available on arrival, no prob, contacted reception and informed same would be in room shortly. We went out for the day and on our return at 10pm still no bed for our son, call again to reception to sort same, bed arrived shortly afterwards. Not a major issue!
Also lack of free wi-Fi throughout was quite inconvenient and for a four star hotel would have expected same.
Overall a pleasant stay for our purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel no towels provided even after requesting twice. food was wonderful however I would not consider this hotel value for money. no information in rooms regarding the hotel or Belfast. l

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barceona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at The Europa.

Nice rooms, exceptionally comfy bed and shower room, the room was small but perfectly formed. The breakfasts were superb, lots of variety and cooked very well.
Our room overlooked a car park, and not Victoria Street but this meant that it was quieter at night, so suited us fine.
We were in town for a wedding and so we were restricted on how much sightseeing and touristy stuff we could do but staying at this hotel meant we were slap bang in the middle of the city and able to nip back and forth as it suited us.
A absolute must is to go and see The Crown situated opposite the hotel, absolutely stunning pub! Also, Mourne seafood bar was worth a trip. Cheap as chips and lovely, lovely food. A lovely stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel - Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.