We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, limited and overpriced menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bert's Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast

Bert's Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast
16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
+44 (0) 28 9023 4888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great music, limited and overpriced menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you are after a nice restaurant for a great dinner experience this is the wrong place. There are only 3 or 4 options of starters, mains and desserts. The wine list is also limited(with good options thought).
However if you are not after a great meal experience but some (overpriced) food while listening to very good band playing live jazz, you found it, there no reason to look further. The ambience, the decoration and the music sets the perfect climate, specially if you are going with a partner. Be prepared for the bill as it comes higher than a better "food only" restaurant.
If you really enjoy Jazz I suggest to book a table on the second service (for an extra £10 per person) and keep the table whilst you enjoy the live music to the last tune, around midnight.
Although the service is quite poor for the price paid the staff is very helpful and do their best to accommodate your request. (Not holding the food while a bottle of red wine chill for 10 minutes because the kitchen is closing is not acceptable while there are tables next to you who even ordered their food yet).
Is worth for the music and lack of similar places in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    38
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co londonderry
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting very romantic however I was expecting much better. Service waa good and place was busy however the food was extremely rich and very salty. Left with a dodgy stomach so wouldn't recommend for food but defo for drinks

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed wheelchair user”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

As this place is not long built I was initially disappointed that as a wheelchair user I was not afforded the courtesy of being able to use the front door. I can't understand why a graded ramp wasn't built to the front behind the hedgerows. Having to use the side/hotel entrance made me feel like a second class citizen having to use the back entrances. this should be a thing of the past for new builds!

the dining area is compact/intimate but due to the size of the chairs it means it's very cramped and as we were seated in the middle of the dining room it meant that when i need to go to and from the restroom or leave at the end of the meal I had to ask people to move and interrupt their evening.

The restroom itself is badly designed. there's an automatic door that opens when you open the first door in the corridor, this then blocks access to the disabled washroom as that door opens against it, which meant that to get into the restroom i had to pass it, go through the automatic door, turn around and then open the restroom door whilst in the other doorway. the restroom itself was all style over substance. Rather than put in a fold down baby change table, the designers obviously thought that wouldn't go with the look and put in a full sized changing table that, whilst on wheels had nowhere to go if you wanted to line your wheelchair up with the toilet. Exiting the restroom was just as annoying as entering.

The food, however, whilst nice was easily forgettable when constantly being aware of how the room was filling up and thinking about who I was going to have to disturb when getting to and from the table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed in service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went to Berts last night to celebrate a milestone with my husband and daughter. We have been before and raved about the experience and service. Last night we arrived expecting the same, but this time it fell sadly short, we asked to keep the table for the evening and agreed to pay extra £10 per person for the privilege. We were allocated the furthest table from the stage and did express disappointment at this to the person (we think could have been French), but were not offered anything else although another couple coming in after us was given a choice of tables. Closest tables to the stage were given to a party of very drunken "ladies" who were up and down all through the time we spent in the restaurant, one actually leaving to be sick! They were given a great deal of attention and had even complained about their food, which I might add was excellent!!
We had to wait on being seated to order drinks, and with the fiasco going on tried to get attention to pay our bill and leave, we had to literally grab a waitress to get the bill. We spent exactly 2 hours and twenty minutes in the restaurant and were charged the £30 extra for the table.
Once again the food did not disappoint but the service did and lack of eye to detail which we enjoyed on our last visit most certainly did let us down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid for dinner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner. Overall it was a very disappointing and at times unpleasant experience. The waiter at our table was cold and unhelpful. The place had a slightly grimy feel to it and it was so dimly lit at our table that we could hardly see our food. The food was less than mediocre & very bad value for money. My salad tasted like it had been prepared and left to sit in the fridge for a long time and the risotto with my main was gloopy. The bad and unfriendly service continued throughout the meal & we ended up leaving much sooner than we had planned. Berts seems to be a good place for cocktails (I had a brief chat with the barman and he seemed very cool) but I would recommend you eat elsewhere. We went to Coco (near City Hall) the night before and loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bert's Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Bert's Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bert's Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.