We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant, will stay again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maryville House to your Saves list
Maryville House
2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellant, will stay again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Travelled with my boyfriend to Belfast on a Grabone deal which included two nights B&B and Afternoon tea.

It is a Tea Room with guestrooms, so there is noone at the premises after 5pm except the guests. It wasn't an issue for us and we were given numbers to call in case of emergency.

From the moment we arrived, the service we received was 10/10. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The tea rooms are beautifully decorated and we really enjoyed the afternoon tea and breakfast each morning.

We stayed in the Jasmine room. It was quite small but really nicely decorated, with a lovely big bed! Good size bathroom and room was really clean and pretty. The staff did offer to move us to another larger room but we didn't bother as we were happy enough where we were.

A lovely touch that Maryville offer is to leave out fresh scones, jams and deserts in the hall outside your room along with teas and coffee so you can help yourself when you get back in the evening.

Location-wise, it's on the Lisburn Rd so you wouldn't walk into the city centre. But there is a bus stop across the street so you can get into town in about 10 minutes for £1.80 or get a taxi for about £7. There are lots of boutiques and coffee shops along the Lisburn Rd.

Overall, really enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to staying at Maryville again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
26
32
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed three nights at Maryville House in October. I arrived in the evening later than staff usually stayed, but with prior arrangement, I was met by a very friendly young lady who gave me the keys and showed me my room.

There isn't an on-site owner or hostess overnight so you come and go by yourself, using the keys and as I was out in the morning before breakfast and back later in the evening I didn't see anyone - staff or fellow guests - for the rest of the stay. So the atmosphere is more boarding house than B&B. Some solo travellers might find that a little disconcerting or insecure.

My room was adequate but a little small and was only serviced on one of the days I was there. There was a bed, TV, drawers and a small ensuite with shower only. It was the single room just off the stair landing. It was okay and did the job, I was there very little. I don't know if the other rooms are more spacious.

The location is a bit out of town, about £5-6 for a taxi ride to the centre. There are buses as well, but I was combining with other people at a nearby B&B and so taxis were actually more economical and convenient.

I wouldn't rush to stay here again, but it would be okay if other options weren't available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killybegs Co. Donegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending a weekend in Belfast recently and are delighted that Maryville House was our accomodation of choice. the afternoon tea on arrival was scrumptuous. We were planning to eat out on both evenings and the staff were so helpful with suggestions for eateries and bars etc, many of which matched reccomendations we had got from others who had visited Belfast previously. The staff couldn't have done any more to make our stay as enjoyable as it was, unfortunately this is a rare experience nowadays especially that the staff were all relatively 'young girls'. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious,great menu choices of home cooked food that set us up for the rest of our day. Would highly recommend Maryville House, ideal location and will definately be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My sister and I spent an enjoyable weekend staying at the Maryville B&B while visiting Belfast. Its located on a quiet street just off the Lisburn Road, which makes it very accessibl, I travelled by train from Dublin and my sister travelled by car. The staff are extremely pleasent friendly eager to help in whatever way they can, suggesting local restaurants and bars for us to try while we were in Belfast, The afternoon tea and breakfast are far above the standard that I have had in most hotels. I would definately recommend and stay in the Maryville House on my next visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a grab one deal, afternoon tea was fantastic. Room was lovely, nice bathroom. Loved the scones left out for us.
Breakfast also lovely. Great location in a lovely area not too far from city centre. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have visited Maryville Tea Rooms (just off the Lisburn Road) on a few separate occasions - for breakfast meetings, a lunch meeting and an elevenses meeting thus far...I will be back, of course!

The breakfast was faultless, homemade mini fry up cooked to perfection - we ate in a side room for privacy as it was a business meeting - quirky old church pews made comfy with cushions galore.

TIP: Ask for a Suki Tea Pot! The only problem I have had and it has been on two occasions now is the tea which is served with a tea strainer thus leaving floating tea leaves - recently I requested a suki tea pot to be used and this worked - no floaties.

There's a small area for free parking which can be like magic dust on the busy Lisburn road hence why I plan meetings here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Did not stay here but took two friends for afternoon tea. Although it advises on their web site that booking is essential, the place was empty. When we arrived we were told to "sit where you like". A waitress then came, banged two plastic menu holders on the table and said pick your sandwiches and your drink and left us! The table itself was full of tea stains and had obviously not been wiped from previous use. I know the tables are meant to have a 'distressed' look but the sides would need a thorough cleaning - I agree with a previous reviewer, a table cloth would be better. One of the china cups had a large chip out of it that was totally tea stained. More transport cafe than tea room! All this was complimented by a used dirty napkin lying on the floor. The food was fine but the whole experience was awful - from the attitude of the staff to the state of the room. Would not recommend and will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.