We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in Belfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryville House

Save Saved
You added Maryville House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maryville House
2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Dublin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in Belfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend of the 16th after purchasing a Grab One deal. Overall we had a really nice stay! Our room was the Darjeeling, which was on the top floor. I really liked this room as it felt really homely and beautifully designed. I also hate most bathrooms in hotels and guesthouses as they tend to be windowless and stuffy, but the little stain glass window effect between the bathroom and the bedroom somehow eradicated that problem for me. The best thing about Maryville was the cakes and scones left out in the evenings. There was also plenty of milk and butter and teabags if you needed them! My internet connection on my laptop in the room wasn't great but to be honest I don't know if this was the connection or my laptop. Breakfast was lovely! We also had the free afternoon tea, which was beautiful. I love their scones. On leaving, we went to get some scones and coffee to go but the lady gave them to us for free. Found out my boyfriend had left a good tip after breakfast but it was still really nice of her and she gave us plenty. We drove into the city most times, which is only 5mins -ten mins. We got a taxi once which was only about £7. Would definitely recommend this B&B and might revisit myself if I get the chance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
28
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Maryville for one night. When we arrived staff were very nice. We stayed in the Earl Grey room which was a nice room. I would agree with the previous review they should change their toilet seat. I did find the room cold when we arrived but there was a rad to plug in which was fine. We had lunch in the cafe and it was lovely however quite expensive. The one complaint we did have was that we were told that if we had any issues during the night there was two mobiles that were pre-programmed if we needed any help during the night. I did find it strange that there was no one at the B&B at night. When we arrived home after our dinner we had trouble opening the front door, it took us nearly twenty minutes to open it. I tried calling the number I had booked on but there was no answer. We eventually got the door opened, but I did wonder at that stage what would have happended if we could not get it open, there was no one to contact. I mentioned it when I was leaving and I was told that there was a 'nack' to opening the door, pity they didn't tell us that when we were given the key. However other than that mishap breakfast was nice, not wonderful but nice. The staff were very helpful, it is outside the city about a ten minute drive to get into the centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay in Maryville House. I got a deal on Grab One, which was very good value including 2 nights B&B plus an afternoon tea for two. We stayed in the Earl Grey Room which was a room with a double and a single bed, it was a nice room at the top of the house facing the Lisburn Rd - but quiet and comfortable. We had an en suite bathroom which was on the small side - no place to hang a towel except for one small radiator. And the one thing I would complain about was the toilet seat was very loose and in my opinion should be changed - otherwise the room was more than adequate.
The location of Maryville House is just off the Lisburn rd as I said before - we thought it was a very good location as there was a bus stop just across the road to go straight in to the city. We parked our car in the carpark and we did not move it until the day we left - it was very handy.
There are lots of good shops along the Lisburn road - actually just up from Maryville on the right side of road is Arcadia deli - which is worth a visit for sure - breads, cold meats, olives and great cheeses - absolutely lovely.
We dined locally as well just up the road on the two nights we were there - Shu and The Chelsea Bar, We also had a drink in Lillies - which when we visited - we noticed the food looked very appetizing.
We had afternoon tea on the day we checked out of Maryville which was very nice. The Tea room is a lovely bright and airy room and they have a nice selection of different teas.
The staff we met were very friendly and welcoming the girl we had most dealings with was called Rose - she was polite and helpful.
I would not hesitate in recommending Maryville House as a nice place to stay in a good location.

Room Tip: Earl Grey room is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Was in Belfast last weekend and stayed in the Maryville House on a" Grab One" deal.I have to say it was the nicest B&B i ever stayed in.The staff were very helpful at all times the room was comfortable and clean.The secure parking was a plus we could leave the car and get the bus into the city.The best thing about our stay was the afternoon tea we had it on both days.Hope to get this deal again soon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recently stayed in Maryville House for two nights on a business trip. The house is extremely well-kept with more then a touch of elegance not usually seen in a Bed & Breakfast. All the Staff were pleasant and very helpful. My room - a single - was perfectly clean and comfortable, and very quiet. The house is located not far from the Kings Hall and while some might think it is a little far out from the city center - a relative idea - it is well served by frequent buses and Balmoral train station is a five minute walk. Located within a minute or so walk are coffee shops, bars, shops - all you could want. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for two nights last week on a "Grab One" deal - wasn't sure what to expect but really enjoyed our break. Very comfortable room top floor/front and surprisingly quiet considering overlooking Lisburn Road and the secure parking was a great advantage.
On arrival we were served afternoon tea (more than welcome after the five hour drive!) which consisted of a choice of tasty freshly-made sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and dainty cakes....delicious.
There was a good selection on the breakfast menu and the food was well cooked and plentiful.
A lovely touch, we thought, was the table on the landing below our room laid out each night with scones and cakes - in case we were feeling peckish!
Last, but not least, the staff were efficient and very friendly - the two we had the most contact with were Rose (who took the phone booking and whom we met while there) and Clare who served us in the tearoom and looked after us on our departure......they're a major asset to any business - and since we ran our own business for 17 years we would appreciate this
We'll be back !!
D & L/Tralee

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed this past weekend and from start to finish everything was amazing. The rooms were very nice with lovely big comfy beds. The location is perfect with a host of eateries and shops along the Lisburn Road on your doorstep. Breakfast was very nice with lots of options. Little treats left out in the evening for returning guests was a lovely touch. Karen who greeted us was lovely and very helpful. Claire at breakfast was fantastic and both ladies are a credit to the Guesthouse, the other ladies were lovely but we mainly spoke with Karen and Claire so didn't want to leave them out of our high praise. Secure off road parking. Lovely warm feeling throughout the house. Would highly recommend. Quietest rooms on the 2nd floor, but we slept very well in the Jasmine room on the 1st. Will return.

Room Tip: Lots of choice of room if you get there early you may be given a few options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel
Maryville House Hotel Belfast
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.