We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soul Food Cafe

Soul Food Cafe
395 Ormeau Road, Belfast BT7 3GP, Northern Ireland
02890646464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #289 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: open for seven years, listed in Bridgestone Guide
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This one was not far from our B&B, it is on the broad, busy and a bit bland Ormeau Road.
Soulful atmosphere, an exquisite little blue Café, with an amazing range of menus. I had the chorizo dish and this was simply fabulous. The owner chats with the customers, many are locals

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This gem of a café on the Ormeau road does great breakfast and lunches. Having been a number of times I have to say I have always come away full and happy.
There is a great selection of food that is prepared fresh and they even cater for people who need gluten free products.
This café is one not to be passed by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A nice little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a nice little cafe, good value, friendly staff and reasonably priced. The food is good, with plenty of healthy options, daily specials and great coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.I.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Getting over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

At £5.00 for a ham and cheese roll with some relish we are going towards the " I might just go somewhere else" option. Although contents were tasty enough the rolls were decidedly on the stale side. £21 for 3 rolls and 3 drinks is stretching it. #recession

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We eat here regularly for lunch and coffee with family and friends. It offers consistently fresh, good food. The staff come from the four corners of earth and are all lovely. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Food Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Soul Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soul Food Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.