We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food at great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of macau

macau
271 ormeau road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We went to this Chinese restaurant with friends at their recommendation and we weren't disappointed.The food was superb and staff were very attentive, but not over bearing. Would highly recommend this restaurant. Also this restaurant is bring your own wine. Can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    8
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
co.Down
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible. Would give it a zero if it allowed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Service was ok. Tables very close together. No music, lacked atmosphere. Food arrived quite quickly, But was lacking any kind of flavouring extremely bland from the squid starter to the mains of curry and monkfish hotpot. Without a doubt the worst meal we have ever had anywhere. Would give it 0 but don't have the option

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great food, great buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great reputation that is generally fairly well lived up to. Order the seafood (prawns, squid or turbot, when its on) and you wont be disappointed. The beef hotpot and the roasted aubergine is also well worth a punt. On the pricey side for a Chinese restaurant, but that fact that you can bring your own beer or wine helps bring the cost down a little. Initial welcome is generally very friendly, but table service can be a little brusk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our friends took us here for a meal, the service was good but the food was dire, greasy, poor quality and tasteless. Will not be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Got a take away from here last night. I was shocked at how expensive it was £6-7 for a main with no side included and all sides where £2.50+. Food was ready very quickly which made me suspicious. There is no waiting area for take away customers and we ended up hovering at the door. The food smelt lovely but I was very disappointed as it was completely tasteless. I had salted chilli chicken which was exceptionally dry and seemed to be more batter than chicken. There was also some wilted lettuce at the bottom and no veg. Curry was bland absoloutley no flavour and the noodles where not well cooked. They also do not do chips which even more authentic chinese restaurants do. At £20.40 for two meals I was expecting a lot very disappointed. I will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed macau also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.