We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Hotel???????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Belfast to your Saves list
Hilton Belfast
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5* Hotel???????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed in this hotel thinking we were going to receive 5* treatment. Firstly, we checked in and the receptionists asked how we were going to pay for any additional charges i.e. room service. We decided to opt for cash on departure as this was an option given to us. When we ordered room service we received a very polite letter asking us to go to reception. When we produced the letter to the receptionists we were rudely told that we were not allowed to order room service without a credit card or a cash deposit. We explained that we didn’t know that and cash on departure was given to us as an option of payment. However this was dismissed and we were given a polite telling off that in future we were to have a cash deposit or credit card when ordering room service.
Secondly, when checking out of the hotel we unfortunately got ‘stung’ with a £36 parking fee. In the elevators there is a notice informing residents of the charges that apply to the EUF car park. I presumed that this was a different car park as the Hilton car park is clearly named as the ‘Hilton car park’. Both receptionists were EXTREMELY rude and arrogantly told me that there was no such thing as free parking with any hotels in Belfast (this information is incorrect) and I should have read the notices. I told them that the notices refer to a different car park but apparently I should have looked harder as the car park adjacent to the hotel is not officially the Hilton car park, but has Hilton branded all over it…. Needless to say we will not be returning to this Hotel as we feel that is not deserving of a 5* rating....

On the plus side, the room was comfortable and very clean and the food was very good....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    611
    270
    126
    69
See reviews for
190
773
86
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have been regular clients in the Belfast Hilton for the past 10 Years staying up to 4/5 times a year . We also stay in many other Hiltons around the World , but always look forward to returning to this hotel .
The staff are the real jewel in the crown from we arrive at the front hall , check in , executive lounge staff , housekeepers , etc . Any problem is solved immediately by the very sufficient management , a special mention goes to Mr Damian Gilvary whom we have known and who has looked after my family over the years . Nothing is too much trouble for him and his team .
We continue to visit this hotel and highly recommend it to all our friends and family . Thank you guys once again !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Booked this hotel at the last minute and got a really good rate, location is excellent next door to the Waterfront and close to Victoria Square for shopping.
As this is a five star hotel I was expecting something a bit special but to be honest the room let it down, I've stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels in Belfast with nicer rooms, our room in particular looked out into the waterfront hall service yard, had water stains on the ceiling, chipped bath and was generally grubby, not what I would have expected from a five star hotel.
On the other hand the breakfast in the morning was excellent!
I would stay in this hotel again but only if I got a good deal, I would have been more disappointed had I paid the full price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 2 nights to attend an event in the odyssey and it was also my fiances 30th birthday. Never again!! Our room was not cleaned for the 2 nights we were there, despite requesting it to be cleaned three times! Finally someone came up when we were out and made the bed, there were glasses in the room and cups as we had coffee the night before and all were left in the room, we did not even have clean cups to make a cup of coffee.When we arrived the room was booked on the credit card, we then got a note under the door stating that there was a problem with the method of payment. We had to go down to reception and sort this out, after the girl initially telling us when we arrived that the room had already been charged to the credit card. It made us feel so uncomfortable. At that stage i requested clean towels for the room, which did not arrive. When we did go down to check out after our two nights, there were items on the bill which were not ours and there were items which were paid for in cash in the bar the night before which were also charged on the bill. The duty manager spoke to us, after we sat waiting on her for 15 minutes, and was "terribly sorry for the inconvenience" and assured us should we stay there again the experience would be certainly be of a high standard - even though we both told her that we would never stay in the hotel again. The parking then amounted to £36 for the 2 nights, which we were also not expecting.
The staff were most unhelpful and unfriendly.
We had a lovely time in Belfast but would certainly not recommend the Hilton and will definitely never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you experienced issues during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for this and for any inconvenience caused to you as a result, particularly on such a special occasion. I have discussed each point you have highlighted with our Management team to address and resolve appropriately with their teams.
I welcome the oppurtunity to discuss your stay personally and to redeem your faith in our hotel.
Look forward to hearing from you, my email address is damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Stayed Sat 27 Nov 2010 for my birthday with my boyfriend. Had booked an Executive Suite, it was gorgeous. Excellent views of River Lagan, Stormont and Scrabo. Room was spotless. Spent Sat evening in the Executive lounge, free drinks 6 pm - 8.30 pm, service and comfort great. Went down to Cables Bar for the rest of the evening. Service in hotel was first class and definately would go back. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our Executive Lounge on the 11th floor and excellent views from our Executive Suite. We are lucky to have fantastic views over Belfast Lough to Harland & Wolff which our guests frequently request and comment on. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed for one night in two standard rooms, got the best rate by phoning central reservations and dealing with the most helpful and pleasant american agent, unfortunately I didnt catch his name. The hotel location is brilliant for shopping, less than five minutes walk to Victoria Square shopping centre. Parking is €18 for 24 hours which is what you would expect for a prime city centre hotel. Rooms on the 6th floor had a fabulous view over the Lagan. Didnt eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. The only downside was the long delay on check in. Official check in time is 3pm, when we checked in at 3.20pm we were told "the hotel is busy" so neither of the rooms were ready and had to wait in the bar to be called when the rooms were ready. At 4.30 when others who were waiting after us were called for their rooms by their receptionists, we went back to reception to be told our rooms were ready! Dont know how long more we would have had to wait to be told personally. This is less than we would expect for a five star hotel, as most rooms are booked in advance the Hilton should be able to cope with being fully booked. We had no such experience in the 5 star Fitzwilliam with a similar check in time. There was confusion over the complimentary drinks we were offered which was eventually sorted. Apart from this waste of valuable shopping time!! we would recommend the Hilton and would stay here again just check in later the next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you experienced a delay with check in on your arrival, please accept my sincere apologies for this and for any inconvenience caused to you as a result. Hilton Belfast is an extremley busy hotel and we do our very best to ensure all rooms are ready before 3pm, I apologise that this was not the case on this occassion. I am pleased that you will consider staying with us again and I welcome the opportunity to improve upon your check in experience in the hotel. Please feel free to contact me on any future stays - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Kindest Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed Saturday night for a treat for my partners birthday. Booked an Executive room,which we got on the 12th floor,with views over the lagan,could see stormount,and as far as scrabo tower.
With a executive room or suite you get to use the executive lounge, which serves free alcohol from 6pm-8.30pm and light snacks.
The room itself was large and clean, bathroom spotless,bed comfortable,and as i was a light sleeper i had no problems sleeping.
Staff were helpful, and we will def stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our Executive Lounge on the 11th floor and excellent views from our Executive Suite. We are lucky to have fantastic views over Belfast Lough to stormount and the scrabo tower as you mentioned. I have communicated your great feedback with our team who appreciate your comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff at the Hilton Belfast. It iwas a pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Belfast to help celebrate your partners birthday and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel has now completed a major refurbishment which includes all bedrooms, public areas and a gym by Precor - open 24/7. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast city centre and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the Odyssey Arena. Wireless internet in all rooms (Charges may apply), 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, 9 Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.