We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel ok but beware of extras.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Belfast to your Saves list
Hilton Belfast
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
“hotel ok but beware of extras.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights with my wife in this hotel as a mini break. I have stayed in hotels in UK and Ireland on business and found this hotel satisfactory - 5 star maybe not.
Room was ok - clean and bright but got a bit loud down the hall at 3.00 am on saturday night.
Breakfast was adequate - sausages bit rubbery.
Extras - parking at £18 per day is a definite rip off - other reviews would agree but it does not seem to bother the hotel management - no remedy forthcoming.
Organised two tours tro' hotel - mistake - do not do it - rip off - book online yourself - cheaper Do not use the companies recommended by the hotel especially the Giants Causeway tour - cheaper alternatives available - example hotel company £25 - alternative - £16.
Had a bad experience with the company the hotel recommended - not nice people to deal with and very unprofessional - the hotel abdicated all responsibility.

Room Tip: go for view of city - 6th floor was ours - good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hilton Belfast. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback, and I shall certainly share your comments with the relevant departments.
If you wish to discuss your feedback further, please contact me directly damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    522
    226
    103
    58
See reviews for
172
661
79
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got a great rate for this hotel for a weekend in January and were delighted with our stay on all counts. Ideally located for us arriving on the train from Dublin. We were upgraded on arrival which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was great, and the concierge gave us excellent advice on how best to experience the city, organizing a black cab tour for us which dropped us off at the titanic experience.
We dined in the hotel both nights and were impressed, with the exception of the pork belly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a touch of luxury in the city center. We will be returning soon, Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderful views over the river. Excellent facilities in the Executive lounge. Very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast and delicious food in the Sonoma restaurant. Good central location. Will dream about the fried potato bread at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you in order for you to have a memorable stay.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.
Kind Regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The check-in process was efficient and the clerk very helpful (and 4 hours later she remembered my name immediately when I was walking by). Had dinner in the cafe (good) and slept comfortably on the large bed.

The room was slightly smaller than what you might get in the States (this is not bad, just noted) and the warm, rich wood paneling made me feel comfortably cozy. The room looked eastward out over the River Lagan and was very settling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time staying at The Hilton, Belfast in the last couple of months and both stays have been excellent. Our latest stay was on Saturday 2/2/13 and we got a great room on the 1st floor, room 117 which is a corner suite overlooking the River Lagan and the iconic H&W shipyard. The room was excellent; spacious, pristine and although it is a designated smoking room there wasn't the slightest smell of smoke in the room. The sofa and table at the windows was a lovely setting for a drink before we went out. Breakfast the next morning was served to 11am which on a Sunday morning allowed us to enjoy a lie in and the breakfast was a buffet which had everything you would want.

Overall, having stayed in a similar spec hotels in Belfast in the recent past I can't see me staying elsewhere in the future, it's cheaper than some of the other higher end hotels but in my opinion enjoys a better location with better views and good quality well finished rooms with big comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Room 117 is a corner suite with 2 sides of the room being windows overlooking the lagan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The welcome was friendly and informative. The room was spacious and adequate with a fairly good river view. Dinner was very average with limited and dull choices. I ordered a spicy salmon dish which was bland and dull. Opting for a cheesboard for afters I asked for port! What came in the glass was a cross between out of date sherry and petrol! For location and price great for dinner dont bother. Breakfast thankfully was very acceptable.

Room Tip: ask for one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time I have stayed at the Hilton since it opened and it is a very good hotel for business travellers to the city. The location on the waterfront is excellent, an easy walk into the centre of Belfast and with plentiful taxis available if it is pouring with rain, as it has been known to in Northern Ireland.

I asked for a quiet upper floor room and the charming receptionist gave me a complementary upgrade to the 9th, Executive, Floor, though (understandably) without access to the executive lounge! The view (despite the rain) was stupendous and the room large and comfortable.

Why not a fifth star - mainly value for money issues. I still can't accept that any hotel needs to charge £14.99 for wifi access given that every coffee shop in the vicinity gives this for free in return for a £1.45 espresso, and although the breakfast buffet is good, if you (as I did) book on a room-only basis because that was the best deal going (I paid £84 for a non-refundable internet advance purchase) then £10.95 isn't cheap - and n.b. that price is only available if you pay when you check in, it is £17 otherwise!

So great staff, good breakfast, comfortable room, but not quite excellent...

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room and a river view if possible. And if you haven't paid for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel has now completed a major refurbishment which includes all bedrooms, public areas and a gym by Precor - open 24/7. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast city centre and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the Odyssey Arena. Wireless internet in all rooms (Charges may apply), 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, 9 Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.