We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Belfast to your Saves list
Hilton Belfast
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hilton Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was not expecting great things from a hotel chain restaurant but what a great surprise. The food and staff were both excellent. The food could have been from a Michelin star venue. The flavour of the mushroom risotto wqas as good as I had tasted. The smoked salmon starter was just a little small in portion size (less bread and more salmon would have been more proportionate)
The main of steak was excellent again one comment would be to include chips in the price. (they were slightly underdone but very edible) One criticism was the waiting time before side orders arrived. The salmon maincourse was faultless. Great flavour and cooked perfectly with the right amount of accompaning vegetables. This time included.
Desserts were also great, but not my favourite course so easy to please. The sticky toffee pudding was the best choice.
One extreame positive was the staff - so attentive, but not intrusive, friendly and skilled in communication and customer care. A definate asset to the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for our Sonoma Restaurant at Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their dining experiences.

A very warm welcome awaits you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    547
    235
    109
    60
See reviews for
177
683
80
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently to attend a concert at waterfront. Second visit to Hilton and we will be back! Most comfortable bed. Loads of hot water. Nice staff who are discreetly polite in their service. Dined in the hotel and had the autumn special in the Sanoma restaurant. £15.95 for two courses and a glass if wine. Great value and was cheaper than a bar snack which was surprising. Fab breakfast with very attentive service.. Tea cups topped up and time to digest food. We will certainly return in the not too distant future. Great base for walking to town. Parked in Victoria centre this time and this was much more expensive than previously paid at Hilton car park which was a shock! Maybe will come to Belfast by train next time as car parking in general seems expensive and at least you get some discount at Hilton using your room invoice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night as a HH Diamond. Upgraded to an exec room - cant imagine it was much different to a non-exec room. It was small and uninspiring but clean. The single beds seemed small (maybe I'm just not used to a single bed) but otherwise comfortable. The room was clean.

The exec lounge in the evening was cramped and very short on the promised snacks. The drinks were set up self service style (like every other lounge I had visited) but you were not allowed to touch them yourself. So first impressions of the lounge were disappointing but things were turned around but the staff. Despite not being allowed to help yourself, the lady serving went the extra mile to make sure everyone had what they needed and repeatedly asked if you needed a top up. She apologised for the lack of snacks. She was someone 100% committed to doing the best job she could.

Continental breakfast was promised in the morning - you could pay extra and get a full breakfast downstairs. I am glad I didn't bother as the continental breakfast exceeded my expectations - there was sausage, egg and bacon too. Again the staff were excellent.

Check in and check out were well handled too. We had one room problem in that we only had one bath robe and bath towel but when I called down this was sorted quickly.

So, in summary, the "hard product" is adequate but uninspiring. The staff are top class. I'd stay again for the service alone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of Hilton Belfast. It is very pleasing to read comments from our loyal HHonors guests who have had good experience with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Service was poor with unacceptable delays both in lounge and restaurant. Had to ask to order drinks and then had to call again about ordering food. Although food was nice menu it was uninspiring. We had asked for side dish which was forgotten although we eventually received it when we had finished therefore we didn't get charged for it. Staff seemed in a hurry and didn't really listen to what we said. I was sitting at a table beside what seemed like a dip in the floor therefore every time someone walked by me the whole chair shook, very annoying. Will not rush back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast, great rooms. If you are booking the City Sightseeing Bus, ask the concierge and he can arrange for the bus to call to the hotel to pick you up.

Room Tip: Booked the standard room including breakfast through one of the comparison sites and it was terrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel.Fantastic service,Made to feel welcome straight from when we arrived!!!
Would reccommend to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. We had a nice, clean, modern room, high up, so it was quiet and comfortable. Location was convenient for shopping at Victoria Square and St. George's Market. Bed was comfortable and bathroom very clean. As a Gold HHonours member, we had access to the Executive Lounge. We went there several times and enjoyed it very much. Breakfast in the main dining room was very good and enjoyable.
Only downside was that I had called several weeks before to arrange for chocolates to be waiting on arrival in the room (it was my girlfriends birthday). However, when we arrived, there were none. After speaking to reception, they said they apologised and would "re-arrange", but it never happened.
In summary, I'd say that it's a fine hotel, however, their reception staff leave a little to be desired if trying to arrange anything outside of "the norm".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Belfast. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your kind comments with our team.

I shall also be sure to advise our Food & Beverage Manager regarding your requests prior to your arrival. We do strive to provide all of our guests with exactly what they request and I do apologise that this was not the case in your experience.

I hope to welcome you back to Hilton Belfast, A marked improvement will be noted.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
#16 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel has now completed a major refurbishment which includes all bedrooms, public areas and a gym by Precor - open 24/7. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast city centre and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the Odyssey Arena. Wireless internet in all rooms (Charges may apply), 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, 9 Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.