We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Film Theatre

Queens Film Theatre
20 University Square, Belfast BT7 1PA, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)
028 9097 1097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 156 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This movie theater features largely independent and European films.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It looks very secretive & exclusive. A lecturer allowed us in to snap pix of Brian Desmond Hurst's plaque. Very cool place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    54
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I know I'm showing my age, but I remember this cinema in the 1980's when it was a lecture theatre by day - complete with hard wooden seats and pull down desks (I can also still remember the complete loss of feeling in my nether-regions having sat through almost 3 hours of "Fitzcarraldo"). In the years since then, the decor has become unrecognisable - and the seating very comfortable!! Where else in Belfast can you see such a selection of constantly changing films (often with subtitles) which are never going to make it to minstream cinema. Both my husband and I are annual members, and this represents very good value for money. The bar area (recently revamped) is also handy for meeting up before a film for a drink or a cup of coffee. The cheaper rate on a Monday night does pull in the punters but, unfortunately, also attracts those who arrive late, have enormous difficulty in deciding where to sit and are incapable of keeping quiet for a couple of hours (and we're not talking students here, but the packs of elderly ladies!). For that reason alone, we give Mondays a miss whenever possible.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“My favourite Belfast cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

QFT is a cinema for film fans - it features the unusual, the not-so-blockbusters and isnt afraid to show subtitled films. I also like the way it's clean and comfortable; your neighbours aren't munching their way through 2kg of popcorn and you dont stick to the floor because of spilt cola. People seem to go to watch and enjoy films. What a pleasant surprise!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cinema”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Why you would want to go to the cinema while on holiday beats me and for this reason I cannot see why this is listed as an "attraction."

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“it has a bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

QFT has always offered great quality indie/off beat viewing - the bar makes it such a lovely spot to hang out, enjoy a bit of the old culture and have a catch up after a fantastic movie.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Film Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Queens Film Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Film Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.