We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine restored period mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cultra Manor

Cultra Manor
Cultra | Holywood, Belfast BT18 0EU, Northern Ireland
(0)28 9042 3578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 267 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum contains a popular Titanic exhibit featuring drawings by Thomas Andrew, the ship's designer and former Belfast resident.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Fine restored period mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I do like the feel of the Cultra Manor. It is a restored period mansion which has been brought back to its former glory. It is set in well manicured gardens and is a great place for weddings and picnics or just walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Gorgeous building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Not one for these types of attractions, but after traveling around the world I would say this is a beautiful building in Belfast. You want to take a look at the statues, and architecture. Beautiful

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Caroline and David Wedding 23rd August 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

There is no doubt that the Cultra Manor has become the Premier Wedding Venue in Northern Ireland.

Venue Bookings
The booking of both the Meeting House where the Wedding Ceremony took place and the Manor House where the Wedding Breakfast and Evening Reception were hosted was conducted with friendly efficiency.
The ladies in the office answered every question, found out bits and pieces of information for us and even arranged for one of the security staff to take us on a tour of the Meeting House and parts of the Folk Museum, he was Very knowledgeable and really sold the place, not by being in any way pushy but because he loved the place.
We were lucky with the weather and the Manor House looked majestic.
Many of the guests had traveled from across the Irish Sea and had never been to the Folk Museum, several of them commented that they were simply “Blown Away” by the setting.

Preparations
The pre-wedding discussions and planning with Catherine were kept simple and straight forward with remarkably little hassle and Catherine dealt with every challenge we put to her with consummate ease. Catherine is assured, relaxed and professional

We were able to access the Meeting House the evening before the wedding and decorate it with flowers , garlands and ribbons, which was great and good fun too!

There was a reception underway in the house the day before our wedding so we couldn't set the room up and had to leave all the decorations for Michael and his staff to arrange for us – They did a great job!

Wedding Day Organisation
The Wedding Day itself was a truly wonderful occasion and the venue, the food and the staff received numerous complements from our guests.
Michael ushered, pushed and prodded everyone and everything into place at all the right times. The calm control he exercised on the day ensured that everything went smoothly.

The food was excellent, well presented and tasty, many of our guests commented on how much they had enjoyed the meal.
The drinks reception went down really well as did the evening reception.

Everything we asked for was there in place at the right time.

When the proceedings came to a close at the end of the day, we asked the bride and groom how they felt the day had been perceived, they simply said…

“It was Perfect”

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The folk and transport museum,on the outskirts of Belfast,is a pleasure to visit,all year round,there is something for everyone ,young and old alike,its just 10 minutes drive out from Belfast city Centre,between the George Best Airport,and Bangor,the transport museum,holds a great collection of rare and vintage cars ,buses,and trains,also some aircraft,and motorbikes,and of course a Deloren,its a great spot to while away a few hours any time of the day ,then just across the road is the ulster folk museum,with its own Unique collection of old farm houses and other buildings including shops,a church,bank ect,these were all saved from Demolision,and transported to the site,and rebuilt,stone by stone,each house has its caretaker,and theres always a very welcoming turf fire burning in the grate,and if your lucky freshly baked soda bread for sampling,,this museum is not to be missed when visiting the near by Titanic quarter .......the entrance fee covers both the transport and folk park and both are linked by a connecting bridge,and car park.......

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely grounds and very picturesque but service during the meal was slow and very hard to get attention of staff. Food was ok but not on a par with other venues we've visited in the north.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cultra Manor also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cultra Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cultra Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.