We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulster Museum

Ulster Museum
Botanic Gardens, Belfast BT9 5AB, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)
0845 608 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 156 attractions in Belfast
Type: Art Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum displaying a collection of early Irish artifacts and treasures from the Spanish Armada.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The museum has recently undergone a big renovation - it is easy to view with exhibits clearly signposted - has many special events throughout the year. It is situated in the Botanic Gardens which are themselves well worth a visit especially the original glass house where plants from all over the world can be admired. Great day out for all ages.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    300
    64
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to see the dinosaur exhibition when visiting during the summer, it was totally worth going to. Really informative and entertaining!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very Interesting and well displayed Museum. Start at the top and work down the floors to the ground floor.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved our day at Ulster Museum. The three children enjoyed the 'hands on' experience in many areas. The museum is bright and welcoming and easy to navigate around. Super.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had to check out of one hotel in Belfast at 12pm and couldn't check in to my next one until 3pm so needed to kill some time. As it was wet, I decided to head indoors somewhere and with the free admission Ulster Museum within walking distance, I headed there. I literally went there hoping it'd kill a couple of hours before I could head to the hotel and, as much as anything, keep me dry! But it turned out to be a really interesting few hours in there where I read and saw about everything from art and pottery to the birth of Ireland and up the sad but sensitively dealt with story of the Troubles. Food in the cafe was a little expensive but with admission being free it's hard to complain. It's well worth visiting when in Belfast, and gives a great starting point if you are going to look at some more of the history of the city or country.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulster Museum also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ulster Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulster Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.