We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best library in Belfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linen Hall Library

Linen Hall Library
17 Donegall Sq. N., Belfast BT1 5GD, Northern Ireland
44-28-9032-1707
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Architectural Buildings, Libraries, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This library, founded in 1788, is the oldest library in Belfast and contains the largest collection of material on Irish studies in Northern Ireland.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best library in Belfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The library has a great history and also a very good collection of books by comaprison to other libraries in the city. The chairs and desks are great for a long afternoon with a good book.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A very good experience and excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a very pleasant place for morning coffee. The place is very appealing with a great atmosphere. A superb location with a great view. The staff are friendly and helpful. The coffee is fine - the only suggestion would be for a wider selection of snacks - traybakes etc. Well worth visiting!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Linen Hall Library - Downtown Belfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As part of the Giants Causeway tour we were dropped off in downtown Belfast to discover on our own for an hour. A great town to stroll, my walk was cut short when I saw across the plaza a small sign for the "Linen Hall Library." I mistakenly thought it was a textile library or museum and so I dropped in to find a beautiful little jewel of a library. My interest: Family Ancestors. This library houses volumes of books dedicated to Presbyterian Irish. As luck would have it, those are my ancestors and now I have a link to the past. I'll come back again and explore the downtown area. It looks like great shopping and great opportunities to enjoy handsome old buildings.
Linen Hall Library
17 Donegall Square North
Belfast BT1 5GB
Northern Ireland
(full disabled access via Fountain St)

Telephone: +44 (0)28 9032 1707

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Linen Hall Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Entering the Linen Hall Library was like stepping back in time into another century. Friendly staff and fantastic woodwork. It was just beautiful and definitely worth a visit. How lucky the students in Belfast are to have such a fabulous place to study.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of N. Ireland's hidden gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A 'real' gem, a sample of 'oldie worldie' Belfast with some fine artifacts and a visual history of Belfast & N.Ireland. Even teenagers will enjoy a visit and that's saying something for an arty/history sort of place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linen Hall Library also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Linen Hall Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linen Hall Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.