We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Donegall Sq., Belfast BT1 5GS, Northern Ireland
44-28-9027-0456
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$334*
and up
2-Day 'Game of Thrones' Tour from Dublin...
Ranked #6 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful, neoclassical building serves as the seat of the city's government.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When I visited in December there was a Christmas market going on outside the city hall, it was really nice to walk around.
Little did I know the next day the trouble would start here and that has made me quite sad

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    340
    55
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Where else can you actually sit in the Mayor's (fancy) chair ?
Beautiful building with a charming Beaux Arts interior, stained glass windows that tell the story of the city and of Ulster. Be sure to investigate the story of "the red hand of Ulster"

They also have some nice artifacts from the Titanic and a convenient tea shop on the ground floor.

Best of all, it's free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Victorian splendour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whether the flag is flying or not, this a beautiful building. Some excellent stained glass windows and a great exhibition area tracing the history of the city. Cafe on the ground floor serves a good range of food...and a warm welcome. Entrance to City Hall is free. Next to the City Hall is the Titanic Memorial commemorating those who lost their lives.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Free tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visits to the historic building in the heart of Belfast are free, just phone to find out the time of the next one. So much history and fantastic architecture. Fully guided tours are conducted by very knowledgable staff. Such splendour, breathtaking. I have lived here all my life and never before had I been inside. I will go again soon as there was so much to take in on one visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a wonderful visit and we had a public visit at 11:00am on 7th December, 2012, the tour conductor is excellent! and the pronounciation is pure and clear, even a english beginner could hear clearly. the story was interesting, and the view is wonderful!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.