We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Belfast to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Belfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fisherwick Place | Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

reception staff were extremely unwelcoming and unhelpful, there was a mix up with my online booking but no one seemed to care, i wasted most of my day making phone calls trying to sort it out myself. Hotel is in a good location but i would not recommend this hotel because of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Jurys Inn Belfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to learn that there was a mix up with your online booking and you also found my reception team unfriendly. To minimise the risk of this happening again I would be most grateful if you could let me know your booking details, so I can follow this up with the agent concerned. My reception team are a very friendly bunch and I would also be keen to find out who you spoke to during your stay as this standard of service is not what we are about here in Belfast.
Please accept my apologises again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Regards
Ryan Foster
General Manager
ryan_foster@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    455
    257
    108
    47
See reviews for
173
330
78
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I don't know which was colder...the hotel lobby or the staff. The place was empty but the staff were running around like headless chickens ignoring the customers standing waiting! The reception staff could not have been more unfriendly if they tried.

The room was very very basic and total atmosphereless. There was apparently a choice of pillows but all 5 pillows in the room, even the supposed soft ones, were like bricks! The bathroom was....need I say more other than I will NEVER stay here again.

One last thing...we ordered a bottle of Prosecco at £30 and it was given to us at room temperature. I don't think the barman knew what he was giving us!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Jurys Inn Belfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was not what you expected but I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly, so I can ascertain the date and room number you stayed in. I would also like to know which members of my team you encountered during your stay so I can follow up on the points you mentioned in your review.

Apologises again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Regards
Ryan Foster
General Manager
ryan_foster@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

OK, so I stayed in February which is not exactly high season - but the cost was similar to one of those so-called Hotels with clueless staff and limited service. This is an actual, proper Hotel.
Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Go high - there can be a bit of noise outside. Also, rooms could be better sound insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff were very helpful and courteous. However, the hotel itself had a run down look. Our room was really cold - you had to be in bed in a jumper to feel warm! Breakfast was pretty revolting and I avoided it on the second morning. There was no room service. It also appeared to be hotel policy to tidy but not fully clean the rooms if you were staying more than one night. So no clean glasses, no clean towels. We had a bottle of wine from the hotel bar and the empty bottle was just left there. All in all - not even worthy of a budget hotel and certainly not deserving of its 3 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Jurys in Belfast several months ago. We were in an upper-floor room with a window that looked out over a courtyard. Early the first morning, casks of beer were delivered, with the delivery man dropping metal barrels onto the cobblestones of the courtyard one by one by one ... dozens of them. CRASH rumble rumble rumble .. CRASH rumble rumble ... On vacation, we like to sleep later than 7 a.m. We complained to the desk and were told that the beer was delivered only every couple of days and it wouldn't happen again during our stay. The next day at the SAME time there was another delivery, not of beer, but of food ... no crash, but the metal trolleys were rolled back and forth across the cobblestones, making loud noises again.
It was totally unnecessary! Why unload in an open courtyard bordered by the guest rooms?
ALSO -- we parked on the side street right next to the hotel and planned to leave the car there overnight. The signs seemed to indicate that it would be OK, but just to be sure, we asked at the front desk and were told, "Oh no! You can't park your car there!" Before moving the car, we took a taxi to meet some friends and asked the cab driver about it. He said of course we could park there. So we did, and the car was fine until he morning.
After returning home, we received an email survey asking about our stay. I told them about being awakened by the crashing twice, and about being told that we could not park on the street when we could (and did). I received an email saying that they could not control deliveries, and they were sorry that we had received a parking ticket. So, way to fail reading comprehension too. Next time, we plan to stay at the Europa!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the street rather than the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I frequently stay at Jury's Belfast due to work. To be honest, in terms of staff friendliness and professionalism I couldn't fault the hotel at all. Whenever I needed something the staff went out of their way to assist and that is a very good quality. However, I strongly believe there is some room for improvement for their room decor and bathroom facilities.

Bedroom -

Bedroom in general is always good - fairly ok size if you compare it with the competition for this price range. They listened to previous feedbacks and put in new digital LCD tvs so that's a plus too. Beds themselves are comfortable too. I tell you what bothers me a lot - Jury's Inn have recently jumped onto "save the environment and go green" saga so the lighting in the room is always weird - The low voltage bulbs in every light mean you will never get a nicely bright room unless all the lights are lit up or of course when it's sunny outside... and for Belfast that is a rare happening anyway.

I would also agree with a lot of other people who commented on the noise through the doors and windows. There is a lot of it and it is constant - I tend to sleep in noisy environments so it's not a problem for me but for some it could be really frustrating.

Bathrooms -

Although everything is kept clean and tidy they could do with some modernisation i.e., old school bath tubs in a hotel bathroom with a shower curtain??? Common this is 2013 and shower cubicles aren't expensive!!!

Hotel Lobby and Coffee area -

I can see there has been a lot of effort being put in by the management to give the hotel an up to date look and they have got most of the things right in my opinion. Remaining niggling items - I hope - will go away too. Every upcoming hotel goes through these issues and as long as management listens to positive criticism they are on the right track.

Introduction of Costa coffee on ground floor is a good thing and it's a nice sitting place in the evening with friends or colleagues. Atmosphere is almost always very nice and staff is again always very friendly.

Oh yes - breakfast is good :) Coffee is a hit and miss though, depending on which day of the week you get it.

Internet speed -

It's not the super broadband that you would get at home but it's fairly decent. I've just that very internet to write this "essay" so can't complain !

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the school side are nicer - but the corridors on the other side are quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The jury's inn is ideally located in the city centre, close to the bus stops to explore the city. Hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were reasonably priced and clean and warm. Would definately recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Belfast

Address: Fisherwick Place | Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Belfast 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a great city-centre location in the heart of Belfast, Jurys Inn Belfast is just across the road from Assembly Buildings Conference & Exhibition Centre and only a 3 minute walk from Great Victoria Street station - this makes it the best place to stay if visiting on business. For leisure visitors the hotel offers an ideal location to explore the city buzz and attractions - situated only a minute walk from Belfast's Grand Opera House, only 2 minute walk from the city's two biggest retail centres and a pleasant 12 minute walk from the beautiful Albert Clock. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the nearby McCausland paid car park located only 2 min walk away from the hotel. Jurys Inn Belfast features 190 spacious and bedrooms that can accommodate a single guest up to three adults. If you are staying as a family, we have affordable hotel rooms available for two adults and two children. At Jurys Inn, we aim to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, so we provide you with fresh bed linen with the option for extra duvets and pillows. All of our rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Belfast at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Jurys Hotel Belfast
Belfast Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.