We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Star

Morning Star
Belfast, Northern Ireland
02890235986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 264 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This pub attracts a wide variety of people and features great music and drinks.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great sat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went to the "star" with work friends for a few pints and lunch buffet, food was great beer was cold with a great choice , place was very busy but Paul the barman still had time for banter and craic with our group, everybody made welcome, had a great Sat after afternoon

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A star anytime of day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We would never have found this place if our taxi driver did not recommend it. We had the buffet lunch which was only £5.50 and we got to sample a whole host of food. I had champ, roasted pork, turnips and carrots and the beef and Guinness pie. And of course, a Guinness. The staff in this pub were warm and friendly and the food was reasonable and good. I hope I can find it again the next time I am in Belfast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quick stop of for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a quick drink on a sunny day in a pub I used to love for eating out . Good service and good busy pub .Bathrooms/or washrooms need some attention ! Anyway it was a quick stop off for an iced drink and I know the food upstairs is always good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am a regular diner in The Morning Star and am more than pleased every time.Very good food and Seamus is absolute gentle man always tries his very best ,would and do recommend this to all .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great stopping point on a tour of Belfast pubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the “Historic Hostelries” according to the about Belfast guide and its décor certainly evokes its heritage. It’s tucked down one of the alleys (called “entries” in Belfast) off Castle Place. Very busy and on a Saturday afternoon obviously the choice of the local punters studying form in the paper, glued to the racing and football. We managed to find a couple of seats in what I called the broom cupboard, a tiny little snug at the end of the bar! Another great stopping point if you want to soak up some of the atmosphere in a traditional Belfast pub.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Star also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.