We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shankill Road

Shankill Road
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Visit Shankill Road like an insider
Top Rated
$19*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #28 of 265 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wasn't what I expected but well worth a visit. We saw this area from the tour bus and was given a lot of local information

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    98
    33
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“i live on the shankill road....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

i have read some of your comments on here and most of you seem to enjoy the Shankill and its history, although one comment entitled 'clean it up' suggests otherwise. Can i just say there is nothing intimidating about the shops on the Shankill road, in fact i think you would find a visit to here most interested. The shops, bars and cafes will welcome you with open arms, and as for them being a 'shambles' or whatever phrase i read i can assure you that the locals take great pride in their own businesses. I personally love living here and have great neighbours and friends in the local area.Living here is like having an extended family at your doorstep as everyone helps eachother. And furthermore another comment i have read has stated that the place in 'run down' etc etc and that everyone is uneducated and unemployed. Well let me inform you that you are wrong just look in the local newspaper named the 'Shankill mirror' (available online) and you will see not only local business advertising but also the back pages list at the end of each academic year the amount of graduates from universities and colleges who are indeed 'educated'. I myself am educated and also work in a professional banking role, i have bought my own home and drive my own car. yes there is unemployment and people struggling but we help eachother as a community we call pitch in, does you community do the same?

So to say that we are at the low end of the spectrum in society does make me giggle as i can completely 100% assure you that the people of the Shankill road are amoung the nicest kind hearted people you will ever meet and if you get a chance please do visit as we will welcome you all with open arms.

happy reading

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You have to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Going to Belfast you have to go up the shankill road just to see all the murals on the walls a lot of work had been put into them. We hired the black cab which took as through all parts of Belfast the guy that took us was called Brian and he was brilliant he knew all history of everything it is a must that you take the political tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The open top bus travels down the shank hill road and it has got to be done, the murals on the shankhill are quite amazing to see and I never tire of doing the tour to see any new ones .
I first visited Belfast 8 years ago and was disappointed to see so any empty shops now.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Insightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited the Shankill Road as part of taxi tour through Belfast that included this community and the neighbouring and largely nationalist Falls Road. For those interested in both the history and politics of Northern Ireland, the Shankill Road is an excellent place to get an insight into the Loyalist psyche. The murals honouring both Loyalist patrons imprisoned and killed in pursuit of their cause alongside others depicting the stories, myths and legends which give modern day Ulster its identity, i.e. the Red Hand of Ulster, The Battle of the Boyne, etc allow visitors to a deeper appreciation of what keeps the Loyalist cause alive; an issue of great relevance when considering the recent flag riots.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shankill Road also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shankill Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shankill Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.