We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shankill Road

Shankill Road
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$342*
and up
2-Day 'Game of Thrones' Tour from Dublin...
Ranked #20 of 122 Attractions in Belfast
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Murals, vibrant part of Belfast, economically better off than the Falls area, it was an interesting place to see. Union Jacks flew from almost every building. If you are interested in Irish history, then a trip to the Falls/Shankill areas is a necessity.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    88
    31
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't be scared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I guess the Shankhill can look intimidating to some. However you will likely find it a friendly and fascinating road. We went on a morning taxi tour of the murals and were persuaded to return later in the day for a few drinks by our excellent driver Lawrence.

We got a taxi from the city centre to the Upper Shankhill mid afternoon and spent a couple of hours wandering down and getting a drink or two in some of the many bars. We were welcomed in every single one (even with our 13yo son in tow) and in fact received a drink or two on the house and a couple of souveniers as well.

Obviously the place still has many issues but look beyond that to see the real people of the Shankhill Road.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shankill Road - don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the history and current day closures an incredible journey. A number of the murals are haunting, not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“So depressing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sadly this is on a tour of Belfast as a highlight showing the walls between the protestant and catholic areas of Belfast that saw so many troubles. What I saw was depressing a huge 30 foot wall separating the communities and so many obviously unemployed which pretty much summed up why they had problems. The art work on the sides of the road paying tribute to heroes just seemed like adding more fuel to the fire. I was quite scared when I heard someone yell abuse at the tour bus going through.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shankill Blues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It depends when you go and what you want to see, I just prefer other areas of Belfast where there is much more going on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shankill Road also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shankill Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shankill Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.