We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced refreshments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Odyssey Arena

Odyssey Arena
2 Queen's Quay, Belfast BT3 9QQ, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9076 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Belfast City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #54 of 129 Activities in Belfast
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Odyssey Arena opened in December 2000 as part of Northern Ireland's landmark Millennium project. The Arena is owned by the Odyssey Trust Company and operated by SMG. This world-class arena can stage a number of sporting events with an Olympic sized Ice pad and is home to the Belfast Giants professional Ice Hockey team. With a 200m hydraulically built athletics track built around the ice pad, Odyssey Arena can host indoor athletics events. Other sports include Basketball, Boxing, Arenacross, Darts and wrestling. Not only providing a multitude of sports, the Arena can attract international stars from the world of pop, rock, hip-hop and classical music. Artists include Bruce Springsteen, Elton John, Rod Stewart, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Kings of Leon, The Killers, Rihanna and Beyonce to name but a few. The Arena has seating capacities from 2,500 for an intimate theatre format up to as much as 10,800 for full concert setting. Another string to the bow is the Arena's capacity to host a number of conferences and exhibitions. With over 3700m² pillar free floor space and a 22m free ceiling height, along with a registration area in the front foyer many exhibitions have proved a great success. With the addition of comedy shows and family shows such as Disney On Ice and musical/dance shows such as Riverdance, the Odyssey Arena can provide a plethora of entertainment and enjoyment to the people of Northern Ireland and beyond! Odyssey Arena provides an outstanding location for first class Corporate Hospitality to businesses in Northern Ireland. The Arena possesses 24 Corporate Hospitality suites comprising of 20 x 12 seated suites and 4 x 28 seated suites along with a 64 seated luxury lounge facility.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced refreshments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The refreshments are extremely overpriced, a small cup of tea which was not filled very high in a poor quality cup was £2.50. The toilets were dingy with sticky floors (in the ladies to boot!) With hand dryers which when deciding to work gave out cold air.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdysseyArena, Public Relations Manager at Odyssey Arena, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate all of your comments which we have taken on board to continually improve our service. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon! Odyssey Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    16
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
b
1 review
“Worst place in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The security at the odyssey arena are animals they have no respect for a persons life. I have witnessed them treat people worse than animals.. I would never go back again horrible horrible men hope they rot

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bar Vista”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I purchased the bar vista ticket/experience for the Riverdance show (25/01/2014) as a present for my mum. We didn't eat prior to the show as this experience included a fork super. Very disappointed in the quality of the food and choice. The bread roll was the most appetising item. The beef stroganoff was tough and not very tasty. In fact the entire meal was tasteless, nothing better than school dinner and it was cold. The desserts were limited and staff ran out off all but one dessert before guests had even got to choose. staff were friendly, but some did not know what they were doing as my mum had ordered a martini and received a gin. We had to sit on a bar stool and bench. We were not shown to our seats. We could have eaten in a restaurant in the city for the additional price for this experience. I can not believe I forked out £188 for this when the tickets were only £80 (for the pair) The show was fabulous and the vibe from the show was unforgettable but the cost for this so called 'ultimate' experience was a joke. I don't usually complain but this has angered me greatly, so much so that I will be contacting the odyssey and raising my disappointment. This was so not worth it. We could have went to bloody Deanes for the price. I wouldn't have even paid £20 for the bland, cold and poor meal. So disappointed folks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdysseyArena, Public Relations Manager at Odyssey Arena, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience here but we really appreciate all of your feedback and we will use this to continually improve our service. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Odyssey Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“arenacross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

great evenings entertainment. was booked for a friend, was not sure if I would enjoy but it was fun and the time flew by. Just need to wrap up well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdysseyArena, Public Relations Manager at Odyssey Arena, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Hello and thanks for reviewing us. We're glad you enjoyed Arenacross and we hope you visit us again soon! Odyssey Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Black Sabbath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Was there recently for black Sabbath great venue,it's the only venue I've been to where they take your ticket off you and at the end you get someone else's back wasn't impressed at all

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odyssey Arena also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Odyssey Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odyssey Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.