We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Prices, Decent Food, Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie & Bennys

Frankie & Bennys
Victoria Square Shopping Centre,, Belfast, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9072 7820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #463 of 778 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
ALBERTA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good Prices, Decent Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were seated and then forgotten. Finally our order was taken, then we were forgotten. Food was good we both had pasta. And the prices were affordable. I would give it a chance, all servers are different, maybe you'll have better luck.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    52
    46
    55
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Five of us ate here last week. I ordered chicken strips starter which was nice but cold. I ordered the calzone pizza for mains which was on the menu described as coming with bolognese, pepperonni and mozerella. I got red onion ,sweetcorn,and peppers. Instead of bolognese I got what looked like a sliced up meatball. My friends pizza was garnished with a salad that could easily be mistaken for compost , it was slimey and black/dark green around the edges where the leaves were rotting. I told the waitress about my pizza to tell the chef. She apologised to me but I heard nothing back. The rest of our table was fine and the price was reasonable. But rotten Leaves/salad on a plate is unforgivable. I probably won't return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bad, bad, bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

gotta say i had possibly the worst dining experience of my life last night at frankie and bennys in victoria square belfast, unless your aim is to show the arrogance of italian americans, in which case you did extremely well. when we got there (there was 4 of us and it was a student event in the shopping centre) all seemed fine while we waited for our table but as soon as we got seated it all went wrong. our waiter was very impatient to take our order and made us aware that the specials menu did not have 10% off which we were fine with because it worked out cheaper anyway. we ordered 2 cocktails for the girls which we were made aware were free with a student card from the sign outside. but we asked him to give us more time to order our and he didnt come back then for another ten minutes and ignored us when we tried to get his attention. still no cocktails either. so once he took his time out to take our order in his boring not caring manner we as
ked about them and he clearly didnt hear as he cheekily asked 3 times to 'say that again' so then they arrived and were drank and our food came which was fine and we finished up with one of us having desert and i had tea. then i realised not once were we asked if everything was ok. even in mcdonalds they ask that! the waiter probably knew how bad his service was is my thinkin. anyway so we went and got our bill. fully charged for the cocktails and we asked about this and the waiter asked US to stop being CHEEKY. i was appalled, when i heard this and im just glad i was out getting a smoke when this happened as i would have lain this rant on him. needless to say i will never be back. ridiculous customer service. i have to add that throughout the meal we spoke about complaining about him but i felt sorry for him because anything could have went on through the day, but in the end up the service was just far too bad to let go. wouldnt wish it on anyone

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
1 review
“Good food, reasonably priced but service always terrible. Slow slow slow never changes be it lunchtime tea time or breakfast.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Book the day off to go here. Great Food and not badly priced but service is always very poor. Slow slow slow. Make sure u leave urself plenty of time going here

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a long wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Called on a Sunday lunchtime with husband, son and mother, we were seated straight away - not too many diners around. Had lengthy wait before drinks and food orders taken, waited 30 mins for starters of garlic bread to arrive, further 45 mins for mains which for three out of the four meals arrived cold and two orders were not correct. Couldn't get staff attention, husband ended up leaving his meal which was the only one ok, to go to the pass to get someone to come to see us. Waiting staff surly and not at all bothered, thankfully manager apologetic and discounted bill.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Bennys also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Dundonald, County Down
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Frankie & Bennys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Bennys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.