We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Experience Belfast

Experience Belfast
Belfast City Hall | Chichester Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland
+44 777 1640 746
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #15 of 129 Activities in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Belfast provides you with the best overview of Belfast you will find. It is being developed as a one man show and is a theatrical experience available as a Day Tour, Walking Tour or Coach Tour. We consistently receive excellent reviews on Trip Advisor for a reason, this is one of the best tours you'll ever do. If you want something that's informed, intelligent, good fun and craic, we're right up your street.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arthur was an insightful, warm and engaging tour guide. I felt he went out of his way to tailor the tour to us. I deeply appreciated his thoughtful insights. The stop by the Peace Walls were for me the most moving part of tour. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to have a deep and meaning Belfast experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    15
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
“Best walking tour ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Arthur gave us truly unique and mesmerizing glimpses of Belfast past and present (and possibly future) - for almost 2.5 hours we were invited to join our guide on his exploration of both Belfast's better and less known sights: Belfast City Hall and its surroundings, the entries, the Cathedral Quarter, the hallmarks of the Peace Process and those of Belfast's merchant past, all accompanied by political contexts, local histories, urban legends, funny anecdotes, and personal comment. I had been to Belfast many times before, but never had I quite seen and experienced the city as on this particular day. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Belfast.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaarLouis, Germany
1 review
“Smashing and full of great insights!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

'Experience Belfast...' is a tour that comes highly recommended. Arthur took us (i.e.: a group of German students) on a more than two hour tour through the city, its Entries, sculptures, sights, stories, and histories. Very witty, very funny - and at some point a bit wet. But that's just how the weather in Belfast is. I think, we actually still had a nice day: there could have been more rain in November (well, the girls were a bit cold, I guess). ;-)
This tour is of a sort that I never had experienced before. Of course there are historical infos about the troubles and the peace process, but also about the art scene in the city, mixed with critical remarks from Arthur's own perspective, which I appreciated very much. It shows that Belfast is not only a city made of some materials and situated in some place, but also t.hat it inhabits acutal people and that there are real issues at hand (as well as ways to overcome the issues).
We ended the tour meeting Terri Hooley, who is considered the godfather of Belfast punkrock. Great craic, I say.
'Experience Belfast...' is a tour for everyone who wants to say that they have not only been there, but that they really have expanded their minds on contemporary Irish/Belfast history and its many facets.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A "must do".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We heard about Arthur's walking tours and, having visited the city a few times now, thought this would be something a bit different so we booked an hour's tour of 'Hidden Belfast'. As Arthur says, "There's more to Belfast than walls," and an hour in his company gave us a warm, humorous and insightful overview of this great city and its people, none of which we'd have gleaned from visiting the obvious tourist attractions alone. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing tour, must do if visiting Belfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Arthur took us on a walk back in time as we explored the hidden streets and alleys of Belfast. His knowledge of the city is second to none, mixed with his great sense of humour and philosophical insights this was one of the best tours we have ever been on. If you are visiting Belfast do yourself a favour and experience Arthur's tour! 

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience Belfast also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Experience Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Experience Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.