We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
34 Bedford Street, Belfast BT2 7FF, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 737 restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice & quirky tardis like Cafe. Small frontage that opens into a rather spacious dining area. Full of suits and ladies that lunch when I was in but don't let that deter anyone. Staff very friendly and breakfast was tasty and hot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    236
    114
    45
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast- 'As good as it get's '.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My only disappointment here was due to an early flight I wasn't able to go back a second time. I stayed a couple nights at the Holiday Inn which is 100 yards down the road. Infact I only knew about the restaurant as the Hotel had previously remarked on tripadvisor that this was a good budget option.

The food prices are very reasonable but the bill will rise if your into your speciality coffees. The surroundings have a real decadent feel oozing class. Its full of well heeled business people and is good for people watching.

There was a good choice for breakfast and although I only ended up going for the poached eggs on toast, those eggs were the tastiest i have ever eaten. The atmosphere and surroundings were great, service could have been a bit quicker but man that place was busy.

I would thoroughly recommend as the breakfast experience is the best I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love, love, LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've just returned from a weekend in Belfast and ended up here on 3 separate occasions! Fair enough, my hotel (Park Inn) was opposite but we wandered around the whole city but still ended up at the Harlem Cafe. First time was for lunch, I had a ceasar salad, friends had a mixture of sandwichs, panini's etc, all of the food was fantastic (my only slightly picky complaint is too much dressing on the ceasar salad). We shared a bottle of reasonable priced wine which was delicious. Our next visit was a late breakfast the following day; a really good selection of cooked breakfasts ('fry'), vegetarian options, bagels etc. Also, they don't mind if you go off menu and order things that aren't on there. Finally, afternoon tea on the same day. Whilst we didn't have the actual afternoon tea (which seemed a little expensive), we all had tea and cake. The cakes are amazing! All homemade, a great selection, huge slice and really really delicious. It's worth visiting Harlem Cafe just for the cake!
The staff are all so friendly, and really happy to help. They don't rush you, everyone is very friendly and smile a lot, but not in a false way. The decor is interesting, sort of cafe meets your gran's front room meets a bohemian artist's studio. It all works really well and it's a great setting for people watching.
The cafe is a short walk from the main shopping area (about 10 minutes from the Victoria arcade), towards the university and botanical gardens/Ulster museum. It's well worth a diversion to visit the Harlem Cafe, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just back from cafe Harlem
Great food and even better surroundings. Staff are very attentive
Do not miss out on this great dining experience in the heart of Belfast

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengormley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Love the whole ambience and the staff are always helpful and always seem interested in you. Definitely not just for show :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlem Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.