We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building - wide range of top class productions”
Review of Lyric Theatre

55 Ridgeway Street, Belfast BT9 5FB, Northern Ireland (Stranmillis)
0044 28 9038 5685
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 144 attractions in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Theaters
Owner description: The Lyric Theatre is Northern Ireland's full-time producing theatre. The new theatre opened in May 2011 to great critical acclaim. The award winning... more » Owner description: The Lyric Theatre is Northern Ireland's full-time producing theatre. The new theatre opened in May 2011 to great critical acclaim. The award winning building is built in traditional Belfast red brick, glass and iroko wood and the cafe bar offer beautiful views over the River Lagan and Stranmillis Embankment.The theatre is open seven days a week with performances usually running in the evenings from Tuesday through to Saturday and matinees on Saturday and Sundays. Contact our box office for more details or check online under "What's On".Our cafe serves coffee/tea and light lunches and is open every day. A brunch menu is available on Sunday mornings.As well theatrical productions, we also offer backstage tours, a programme of theatre school and professional learning and corporate hospitality. « less
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Lyric Theatre
See the most recent reviews
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic building - wide range of top class productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was blown away by the new Lyric building the first time I went in and repeated visits have not dulled my enthusiasm. I think it is the best designed theatre I have even been in. Access is easy, the inside is spacious and characterful with great views and the auditorium is a perfect size. I love the high quality children's theatre they have on as well as the good stuff for grown-ups.
My only quibble is with the cafe/bar which seems to have a very limited range on offer - but maybe I have just been unlucky.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Manager needs to become more customer focused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a family outing at Christmas with our elderly parents, due to the flag issue we were 5 minutes late, the manger was in my opinion not very helpful and left us sitting outside the main show watching a TV screen. The show was brilliant, service and attitude not so good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Forget Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went to see 'Forget Turkey' which was a wonderful show. One which I would highly recommend. Also very pleased with the refurbishment of the theatre.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first visit to the newly revamped theatre. I had attended the old theatre for over thirty years and it was certainly beginning to show its age. Tired and not "customer friendly". The new theatre is an entirely different package. From the riverside it looks quite stunning. The airy, open visitors area/ bar is very welcoming, as are the smiling and very helpful staff. The performance area itself holds no criticism from me. We were in Row J, to the side of the stage, but were still met with excellent views of the stage, with the actors' every word being quite audible. An excellent place to which I will return, hopefully to see a much better show than the one I went to see, which was dreadful - but that's another story.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had not been to the Lyric since the revamp, wow!! such an improvement, Christmas comedy by Dan Gordon, Very Funny actors superb, very different take on a play. However definitely for a Norn Ireland audience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Lyric Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyric Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.