We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager needs to become more customer focused” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
55 Ridgeway Street, Belfast BT9 5FB, Northern Ireland (Stranmillis)
0044 28 9038 5685
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 137 attractions in Belfast
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Lyric Theatre is Northern Ireland's full-time producing theatre. The new theatre opened in May 2011 to great critical acclaim. The award winning building is built in traditional Belfast red brick, glass and iroko wood and the cafe bar offer beautiful views over the River Lagan and Stranmillis Embankment.The theatre is open seven days a week with performances usually running in the evenings from Tuesday through to Saturday and matinees on Saturday and Sundays. Contact our box office for more details or check online under "What's On".Our cafe serves coffee/tea and light lunches and is open every day. A brunch menu is available on Sunday mornings.As well theatrical productions, we also offer backstage tours, a programme of theatre school and professional learning and corporate hospitality.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Manager needs to become more customer focused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a family outing at Christmas with our elderly parents, due to the flag issue we were 5 minutes late, the manger was in my opinion not very helpful and left us sitting outside the main show watching a TV screen. The show was brilliant, service and attitude not so good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Forget Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went to see 'Forget Turkey' which was a wonderful show. One which I would highly recommend. Also very pleased with the refurbishment of the theatre.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first visit to the newly revamped theatre. I had attended the old theatre for over thirty years and it was certainly beginning to show its age. Tired and not "customer friendly". The new theatre is an entirely different package. From the riverside it looks quite stunning. The airy, open visitors area/ bar is very welcoming, as are the smiling and very helpful staff. The performance area itself holds no criticism from me. We were in Row J, to the side of the stage, but were still met with excellent views of the stage, with the actors' every word being quite audible. An excellent place to which I will return, hopefully to see a much better show than the one I went to see, which was dreadful - but that's another story.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had not been to the Lyric since the revamp, wow!! such an improvement, Christmas comedy by Dan Gordon, Very Funny actors superb, very different take on a play. However definitely for a Norn Ireland audience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a great arts venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not having visited the theatre since the renovation I visited recently with a family party and found the building very people friendly. The bar and "roaming" areas were very comfortable and I would certainly consider eating there before the show next time. Sat in the middle of the Circle and had excellent unrestricted viewing (quite steep tiers) only downside was that found the seat to be uncomfortable particularly after the interval which led to a lot of moving around in the seat probably to the displeasure of those behind. All in all, what a great venue!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Lyric Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyric Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.