We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy bar in central Belfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muriels Cafe Bar

Muriels Cafe Bar
12-14 Church Lane | BT1 4QN, Belfast, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Stockholm, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy bar in central Belfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not much to dislike really, only had the soup on a late sunday. Cheap and tasty, perfect with a stout before you try their gin selection. Feels like sitting in someones livingroom, busy but relaxed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    68
    9
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Small and csy with a great atmoisphere. Menu not extensive but what you get is well cooked and well presented. Upstairs is like your living room making ou feel very relaxed so we stayed fr a few hours. Watch the service charge though. If it wasn't for that would have given five stars

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim n ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went with a group of friends to Muriel's last Saturday evening around 5:30....very busy, cosy and warm.When food arrived it looked AMAZN!!!Very tasty seafood chowder nice crusty bread very welcome after a long walk at Cavehill....Seabass was our main good portion and very well presented.After that we were well satisfied and certainly plan to go back..ENJOYABLE....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

5 girls on an afternoon out decided to try Muriel's . what a lovely surprise!! from the moment we stepped in we were made very welcome by Pauline & Nicole who looked after us all afternoon making sure we had everything we needed and were so pleasant & helpful. We like to try different venues for our twice yearly outing but because of the excellent service & amazing food we all decided we will be back - Pauline & Nicole are a credit To Belfast and we will be recommending Muriel's to anyone who will listen - thankyou girls - hopefully see you soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ask for a table upstairs if eating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went with a friend to eat as we had been on several occasions for drinks and enjoyed the atmosphere and the banter of the staff. Booked a table for a friday evening and when we arrived were told our table would be downstairs in the bar, it was very busy and as the table was in the corner with bench seating running the length of the wall we had people squeezing in to sit with their drinks when we were trying to eat. It was also extremely busy so nearly impossible to attract the staffs attention and we were made to feel we were being a nuisance by eating downstairs, this was not our choice. The food was average and portion sizes were less than generous.
We finished our meals and went elsewhere for drinks.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriels Cafe Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Muriels Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriels Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.