We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and great drinks if a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muriels Cafe Bar

Muriels Cafe Bar
12-14 Church Lane | BT1 4QN, Belfast, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
glasgow scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great drinks if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been here twice for drinks visiting friends in Belfast. Lovely, quirky little bar but very good (especially for gin) drinks list if a bit pricey. Go for one at least.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    68
    9
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An absolute must visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

What a surprising little place down not the prettiest side street ... Don't let first impressions put you off
The place has a great charm and is a quirky little place but produces fantastic food and wonderful service
Read the history and stories on the menu and the place makes alot more sense ... Best meal we had in Belfast

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Quirky Retro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Visited here for a drink during our visit to Belfast. Managed to get one of the outside tables, although not much of a view (quite a dull street view) it was a good people watching place.

Inside was great, as described by others, lots of retro furniture and quirky items.

The range of drinks were good - we tried an Armagh cider which was deliciously dry, crisp & local. They appeared to have a good range of beers on tap and food seemed good (although we didnt eat).

I just wished we had time to return to sample other drinks & some food.

Would be top of my list if I come back to Belfast!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, Quirky, DELIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Muriel's is that place that you just happen to stumble upon while out for a casual stroll through City Centre. If you aren't looking for it, you will miss it. While it is tiny, Muriel's boasts very chic 1950s decor in the upstairs dining area. I ordered the "meal" size bowl of seafood chowder that comes with fresh bread---simply delic.! The seafood chowder was fresh, and puts NE clam chowder to shame. Wanting to try their dessert, I had a vanilla cupcake...YUM!! My husband and I will be revisiting for dinner, soon. BTW: If you want to know the history of Muriel's, read the first inside menu page or just ask who Muriel was!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Discretionary charge"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had lunch (on my own) recently here. . After paying bill and leaving i noticed a10% discretionary was added to bill. This sneaky charge is unfair and i will not go back. It puts the onus on the (alert) customer to ask the charge be omitted and is a way around the law on display prices orders. It is probably illegal. This practice is spreading and should be resisted everywhere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriels Cafe Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Muriels Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muriels Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.