We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spot in city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca

Avoca
41 Arthur Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 783 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Description: This is an independent department store with a cafe restaurant upstairs
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot in city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a great place to stop for bite to eat in a busy city. Food is fantastic, service quick and staff friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    96
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch in the non formal area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Excellent lunch with really tasty food , not the usual run of the mill lunchtime food , we had excellent salad selection . Will definitely be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gooooood scone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Arranged to meet my wife for a quick bite, she had been before but this was my first and we both agreed before hand that we just wanted a scone and drink, she knew to go to Avoca! I can see how the place could be considered a nightmare for some due to the popularity and seating design (which was a first for me) but we on alright. Scones were fantastic, my wife got a plain and I got mixed berry & vanilla! Awesome!

Will deff be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Long Goodbye”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We love Avoca. It's our local.
Today was a disaster. We arrived at 3.05 and waited at the steps for 12 minutes (and it was not busy). When we were seated the four groups behind us in the queue all had there tables served and orders taken. We had been forgotten! We left.
We will be back as we like Avoca, but more attention to customer detail is needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the moment you walk into the store it is classy and sophisticated......the aroma of the coffee grabs you...well worth a visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avoca also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Avoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.