We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert Stewarts

Robert Stewarts
149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9030 8807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 732 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: European, British, English, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ROBERT STEWARTS SPIRIT GROCERS is located on a narrow country road that threads its way out of the leafy glades of south Belfast via the Upper Malone precinct. The road continues onwards in the general direction to the town of Lisburn which in recent years was decreed a CITY. The actual premises is a primarily two zone affair.A public bar of which no decent pub should be devoid of. This coupled to a nooks and crannies lounge bar handsomely ajoined with a slightly more formal dinning facility called the company room.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Just the ticket!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Decided to last minute come here for a night out. A wee country pub with a very interesting menu. Food good quality and some interesting creativity with the menu.

I had smoked eel with a capiscum salad and beetroot puree. All the elements good. But not greatly presented. The puree was lost underneath the salad. Truth be said my friends cauliflower puree was a perfect pairing for my smoked eel. The beetroot puree paired well with my friends goats cheese balls.

My trio of pies were flavoursome, but I had a problem picking out the game pie (which turned out to be venison) with the steak and ale pie. I thought I had been given 2 steak and ale pies. Not a problem, my dish was represented to me within 5 minutes and my spiced lamb pie "spiced" up a bit.

Food all well cooked and very good value, Service was good and the meal was capped with a bottle of Chocolate Box Cabernet which was bloody gorgeous and a bargain at £20 for a restaurant price, when you consider it retails for £13.

Nice eclectic decor, and a place where you can relax and have a few beers afterwards. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings "Just the ticket" visiting persons of the 11th March
Much obliged for your constructive comments regarding the presentation of the particular dishes you ordered on your visit.
Cheers
The Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    7
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for a Friday tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited Bobs on a friday evening about 7.30pm for a bite to eat and a couple of pints,
I had the Jalapeno chicken burger and my friend had the fish and chips. The food was delicious , and served quickly along with a couple of pints. You get mountains of food here and best of all its great quality. Maybe a tad on the dear side but well worth going. The old pub is in need of a little refurbishment nothing major just a new set of seat covers and padding refilled would do just to lift the place a bit. The new part of the restaurant is spot on.
All in all a great little place

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Response to insertion of the 18 th Feb
Hi you "Good for tea" people
We like keen eyed folk who notice things and in this particular instance we concur re your
observation on the matter of our seating requiring a little gee up'
This matter was on our things to do list for March anyway.
Much obliged
Da Management !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service Fiasco”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I VISITED THIS ESTABLISHMENT LAST AUGUST WITH my elderly mother . AFTER AN ENJOYABLE DAY OUT AND ABOUT WE THOUGHT A NICE SUPPER AT ROBERTSTEWARTS WOULD END THE DAY NICELY. How wrong we were,!
AFTER BEING SEATEd and orders taken , we waited and waited , despite the restaurant being half empty , a couple that arrived after us had finished their main course by this time . Despite reminding our waitresses a few times , our food order still didn't arrive .
In total we estimate that we were kept waiting for one hour and a half , no apology was made ,Take it or leave it seemed to be the order of the day .
As soon as we had finished our food we paid in full and left.
Needless to say , we have communicated our eexperience to our friends and would like everyone else to know about the shabby attitude at Robert Stewarts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Response from management re insertion 4th Feb 2013 titled Service Fiasco.
We are not just too clear on this one in that as best we can understand the incident took place in August 2012 yet the matter is resurrected some 6 months later.
Any way enough of that, the core beef is the matter of sitting for an hour and a half for food.Bobs is a small place but a dozen steps takes you most places in it.There may have been something afoot on this visit with these folk personal to themselves.It just holds no water that during a not too busy dinning period that from the point in time of arriving to getting a plate of food that one and a half hours pass.
Ahh well a strange one and if understood correctly that this happened in August last year what does one advise these unhappy persons to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Called in on the off chance for a bite to eat and glass of wine on a Saturday evening. Hadn't booked but there was one table for two available ( would recommend booking because it is busy)Atmosphere and staff were lovely and the food was delicious! Had goats cheese bruschetta with onions, balsamic vinegar & roasted tomatoes - was divine! Also had monkfish risotto (one of the specials) -equally delicious! Would definitely go back again as prices and quality of food were great. Thanks

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi you " Found a little gem " people of insertion on 28th Jan
Love you Love you------Sorry only getting an acknowledgement to your positive review now.Head up somewhere on our behalf should have picked up on your positive opinion sooner.
Lots of best wishes to you on your journey through this life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An interesting place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions. I was quite taken by some of the reviews and the owner's responses. Menu is quite limited, premises are clean and quirky, quality of the food is probably better than your average pub grub, but prices would be over the odds for pub food, service is good. The owner has a major attitude problem and that is evident both by his behaviour in the premises and his responses to reviews here. Perhaps he should spend more of his time behind the scenes and leave his excellent staff to look after customers. I don't think I've ever seen a bar or restaurant with so many signs making it quite clear that children are not welcome, fair enough...ban children if you want but don't blame the Northern Ireland licensing laws.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Stewarts, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Reply from proprietor re " interesting place" 6/1/2013

Bill of Fare good you state thus one assumes quality & presentation wise above the average boozer but the price too much- doctors differ & patients die
Owner has attitude not to your particular liking- could be a bit of a Jack Nicholson character in "A Few Good Men"
Sinage informing the first time patron of the Intoxicating Liquor Licensing Laws as of this moment in time within Northern Ireland.(suggest you get the knowledge)
The particular staff on the at the time of your visit suited you.
All in all not bad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Stewarts also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Robert Stewarts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert Stewarts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.