We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it once was” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hakka

Hakka
15 Clarence Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 730 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: BT2 8DY
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not what it once was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ate here recently on a quiet sunday evening. The menu was a generic Chinese menu, not the noodle dishes that this place used to do well, I think these are only sold at lunchtime. That was disappointing enough, but the food that we ordered was very poor. Four main courses arrived within two minutes of ordering, obviously not cooked fresh, and it was apparent from the taste and quality of the food. side orders not included in the price which makes it expensive also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    9
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Monk's vegetarian crispy noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My absolute favourite but the ingredients seem to change every time I go. There is never enough of the white/tofu/slice thing in there, too many carrots and I'm so sad they stopped doing vegetarian dumplings. I would have lived on those alone. For the rest of my life.

Nice place, just needs to bring back the veggie dumplings. The vegetable spring rolls just don't cut it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed by lack of ... noodles!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came one Saturday night about 8 pm into an almost empty restaurant. Bit disconcerting but nevertheless we sat down. Upon being presented with the menu we noticed a distinct lack of noodle dishes! The online menu I'd seen earlier in the day is completely different from the one we were presented with. There were only TWO noodle dishes available and they were both Singapore noodle style meals which can be got in almost any Chinese restaurant. Feeling a little bit cheated we decided to stay as we had already ordered drinks. However I would hesitate to return - this is just another run-of-the-mill Chinese.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good noodles in Belfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of my favorites in Belfast. Simple, fresh Asian (mostly noodle based) cooking. Helpful & prompt service. Reasonably priced and enough variety for most in a large group.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First back here for three weeks. The majority if the staff has changed but service is still great. And the food Mmmmmm. Pove this place always get looked after and foid is great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakka also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Hakka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.