We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sean is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmore Guesthouse

Ardmore Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardmore Guesthouse
Save
You added Ardmore Guesthouse to your Saves list
144 Finaghy Road North, Belfast BT10 0JE, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sean is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in September 2013. Sean welcomed us when we arrived - make sure you budget in some time to talk to Sean because he certainly has the gift of gab! He is a wealth of information about Belfast and the North in general. He is an excellent host - he even drove us to the city and showed us around on the way! The room we had was spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit small but generally okay. The living room and dining room on the first floor were very nice and the breakfast that Sean made was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice wee BnB located not too far away from the city, only a 6 pound taxi fare.. which was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle but not isolated in thye slightest, it sits in a nice suburb with shops and restaurants. Excellent host , lovely breakfast, comfortable room.. it was spot on :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

In Sept. my wife and I stayed with Sean at his home in Belfast for two days. Would definitely recommend the Ardmore Guesthouse,,, it is a 5 minute walk to the train station and only 15 minutes to down town[20 to the Titanic Exhibit]. Sean will share his wealth of knowledge about Belfast over a glass of wine. If you have the time enjoy a pizza at his restaraunt downtown. You will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. Dennis and Lynn Parsons

Room Tip: Ardmore house is in a residential neighborhood. all bedrooms face a quiet back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here on 4th December, and arrived and were met by Sean, who told us we had the whole house to ourselves. It was huge! He gave us some great tips on where to eat (one of which being his own pizza place Opera which was great), along with some places to listen to music and watch football, he was really reallh helpful. The room itself was huge, and was maybe a littlt too warm in the evening whilst the bathroom id imagine some people would find to small but for 1 night for us it was fine. Location wise 20 mins to centre of Belfast and then £5.50 in tax back. All in all good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After reading the reviews I was very much looking forward to our stay at Ardmore but sadly I don't feel it lived up to its excellent reviews.

The room was spacious and the bed was very comfy but the bathroom was small, slightly grubby and the bath towels we very small. There were shampoo sachets provided. Unfortunately our shower head didn't stay in the holder so we had to hold it up with one arm whilst showering. The TV in the room did not work, it came on and then zoned out for a bit and then came on again and off etc. These two points, I am sure would have been fixed but we were only there for one night and so did not raise them.

Sean, the host, was lovely. Very welcoming and informative and a true credit to the B&B. He cooked breakfast at our requested time and it was nice.

The B&B is located 300 meters from Finaghy Train Station which is just £2.60 return to Belfast, its also about £7 taxi journey to Belfast.

We paid £50 for the night, which feel is reasonable. Unfortunately the reviews lead me to believe I had found a real gem at a bargain price and next time I would more than likely book a Belfast town centre hotel for around £15 more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Two enjoyable and comfortable nights in Ardmore Guesthouse. The service was everything we could wish for, room was lovely and spacious, en-suite was all we needed. Breakfast was tailored to our needs (I'm a vegan and was so happy that I was catered for), on time and tasty! Sean was incredibly friendly and helpful, and felt more like a friend. Location was great and value for money - I couldn't have asked for more.
If you want to ensure a great stay close to Belfast city centre, Ardmore is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

As soon as we arrived the owner sean was so welcoming, it was as if we had known him for years! he gave us a tour of where all the facilities where and then we where guided to our room. It was a very spacious room, lovely decor which included a plush bed and ensuite bathroom. All you could wish for! On arrival we where talking to Sean about transport he couldn't do enough for you as once we had told him where we were going in Belfast, he took us there, wouldnt take no for an answer

The next day we had the most lovely breakfast, everything you could wish for on a plate. The most perfect weekend stay away yet! Would definately stay here again, in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, you can't hear anything. I thought the night we stayed we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmore Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Guesthouse

Address: 144 Finaghy Road North, Belfast BT10 0JE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmore Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.