We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molly's Yard

Molly's Yard
1 College Green Mews | Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1LW, Northern Ireland
44 (0) 28 90322600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 811 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

About a mile's walk from the city centre, Molly's Yard is one of the best restaurants in Belfast. I've eaten here a few times, both lunch and dinner, and have been completely satisfied with the food, drink, service, and value for money every time. The kitchen is incredibly accommodating, once making a fresh sauce for my dish because I am not a cheese person and this particular dish had a cheesey sauce, and I would definitely recommend trying out whatever is on special. They always seem to have delicious fish specials, and you know it's incredibly fresh and brought in that day! The drinks list is great, with local beers from the Hilden Brewery and a good selection of wines. The staff is always friendly and are happy to answer and questions or ask the chef if they're unsure. Can't wait until my next meal here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    81
    26
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lovely meal last night at Molly's Yard. Didn't know it was there. You walk through a little alleyway into a courtyard where you could eat al fresco, weather permitting. We went inside to the cosy downstairs eaterie (there is a larger room upstairs) and were welcomed and shown to a nice corner table. Even when the room was full we didn't feel cramped. Small but intimate sums it up. Great service from the waitress who seemed able to read our minds and help us decide as we struggled to choose from an excellent menu. A lovely meal followed, great flavours, good sized portions and unusual touches. We will definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favourite Belfast eatery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Only thing bad with here is it doesn't open Sundays! Food is awesome, hefty portions for the hungry, impeccable quality and care goes into every dish I've ever had here. Beers are ace too, setting is either intimate in the wee bar, more snooty in the upstairs room or al fresco in the yard, so something for every occasion. My favourtie place to eat, still, in Belfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A really good meal and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ate here on the advice of my son who said it was really good; and it was! Wanted the seafood chowder that was not on the menu that evening and they made it fresh for me which was delicious. It is always nice when they go that extra mile. Had a seafood linguine main which was also really nice- can't fault it except I was not keen on their own brewed stout.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“tip top food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

New to Belfast, it was simply great to find Molly's Yard. The food was wonderful and service was perfect on two occasions, once in the evening upstairs for a pre-theatre menu and once in the afternoon in the bar. The price was great too. The chorizo, spinach and sunblushed tomato linguine was the best I have ever tasted. The wild garlic marinated chicken breast with basil mash and a ratatouille dressing was a complete treat, with very fresh, amazingly well combined flavours. The lemon posset was outstanding. From the bar menu the next day I had probably the best triple decker bacon and tomato sandwich I have ever eaten, with a delicious glass of house red. terrific stuff, and a great introduction to Belfast cuisine. Well done everybody

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Yard also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Molly's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly's Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.