We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas party - not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Box

Black Box
18-22 Hill Street | Cathedral Quarter, Belfast BT1 2LA, Northern Ireland
02890244400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 264 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Black Box is a multi-purpose arts venue in the heart of Belfast's bustling Cathedral Quarter. With art, music, literature, film, comedy, cabaret and all points in between! The Green room hosts free events Wed to Sat and sells pizzas and drinks.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Xmas party - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

One of the best Xmas fun nights out in years - absolutely worth every penny - dinner included in price... I would advise peopel to book early and make sure you take a xmas jumper - the silliest the better!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A little gem of a concert area with unorthodox shows and a small friendly bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Best in Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I first frequented this venue 40 years ago as the Marquee. I loved it then and even more now in its present incarnation. Very hip, friendly and some great shows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quirky but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Small intimate theatre, great atmosphere. Not laid out like a conventional theatre, more like a speakeasy. Very cosy. Has a tea room/cafe on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
633 reviews 633 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,062 helpful votes 1,062 helpful votes
“Small theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We attended a concert there, on informal seating. It was hot and not particularly comfortable. But you are close to stage and artists

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBoxBelfast, General Manager at Black Box, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hi there Alan
Sorry to hear that you found the venue too warm and the seats a little uncomfortable. We will make sure that our duty managers keep an closer eye on the temperature in the venue to ensure that people are comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the gig!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Box also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Black Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.