We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter to your Saves list
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HL, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Budget Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is located in a great location. It's about a 15 min. walk to the city centre; and just around the corner from the beautiful Queens University. There are numerous restaurants, bars, and cafes all within a short distance. The room were a lot bigger than expected. It is very modern looking. The bathroom was in what appeared to be a pod like thing, which I found very cool. You are able to adjust and control the heat, which is great. To work the electricity in your room, you place your room key in a slot on your wall to operate it.The staff were very friendly and helpful. I cannot comment on the breakfast buffet (approx. 6.95) as I was never up in time to part-take.The down falls were; Upon entering our room there was a nasty sewer stench that would slap you in the face. Also, the heater,which is located above the door,constantly made loud noises that sounded as if someone were breaking into the room, which made it very difficult to sleep at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Andrea G,

First of all I would like to thank you for such a nice titel "Budget Gem".
As a customer focused hotel, I am delighted to see that you found that the serviced you received exceeded your expectations.
I am sorry to see that there were a couple of issues that put a dampner on your stay, but would encourage you to speak to a member of staff, so that we could either rectify these issues or maybe gave you a different room.
again i am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at ibis Queens Quarter belfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    196
    53
    17
    13
See reviews for
54
164
64
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a great location, a short walk away from the city centre. The hotel is nice and clean, the rooms were spacious and the bathroom wa sin some sort of pod...which was random but it went well.

The included shower products such as dove and lux showergel, which made the stay more personal and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, even remembered our names and room numbers! They were able to advise you were to eat and how to get to places.

We stayed for a night for a Ice Hockey game at the odessy, which was around a 5minute taxi ride to go to (around £4) and then we were able to walk back to the hotel.

The only thing I'd point out was that nothing is open on a Sunday, so we were a bit stumped on what to do. We ended up walking around and looking at the odd shop which was open.

I'd highly recommend going to the cafe on the end of the road, I forgot what the name was, but they do the best Irish Breakfasts there!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Nomnom7,

Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to see that the hotel location and facilities were of benefit for your visit.
As a customer focused hotel, we do believe that going that little abit extra makes our guests feel that little bit more relaxed and i'm delighted to see that on this occassion their efforts made your stay!!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis queens Quarter in the near future.

Kind regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry city
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staff very friendly, and the rooms where very spacious, we booked 6 rooms all where the same size. You adjust the heat to suit your self which was a bonus. the mattress where very hard, i like firm but not rock so glad i didn't stay a second night.
Buffet breakfast either continental or cooked was disappointing, a very poor choice, most of us paid for cooked but ended up just having continental. i would try some where else next time i come to visit Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear tootsDerryCity,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As a customer focused hotel we take all your comments very seriously and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay.
I am however pleased to see that the staff and the rooms in general met your expectations.
In regards to the breakfast can I ask was it the quantity or the quality of the food that you were not happy with?
Again I am sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay, and hope this will not deter you from visiting Ibis Queens Quarter in the future.

Kind regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is above average for a budget hotel. The location is great :surrounded by cafes, bars and restaurants.

The service was better than what I would normally expect from a budget hotel. There was 24hr food and bar service; breakfast from 4am to noon and the housekeeping returned in the evening to service my room as they could not gain access in the morning (I refer you back to the nearby bars etc!!!).

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The beds are a quite narrow and the bath towels are small. I had a twin room to myself so I was able to push the beds together and use both sets of towels.

The only drawback is parking. It was a nightmare. We had to park some distance away after searching for a parking space for 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear tfitzpat1,

We much appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed all the facilites we have to offer here at ibis Queens Quarter, Belfast.
Even though we are a budget hotel we always try to go that little bit further to make our guests feel welcomed and relaxed throughout their stay, and I am delighted that on this occassion the staff were able to make your stay enjoyable.
I do hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Belfast.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis hotel at the end of October 2012 for two nights. The location of the hotel is great and we found the staff very helpful and friendly. We were really pleased with our room which for a family of three was extremely spacious and very clean. We booked breakfast whilst we we there and we found it was great value for money and there was plenty of choice. We would definatley use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Lenn0n001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor.
As a customer focused hotel, I am delighted to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am glad to see that you were able to make use of the facilites we have on offer.
We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Belfast.

Kind regards

Rebecca Tyagi

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

STAYED LAST JULY,LOCATION IS EXCELENT,Next to univercity and botanical gardens,Botanic station just a short walk,with connections to all over N.I.Bus stop outside to city ,but only 15min walk.StaffVERY FRIENDLY,FOOD GOODPlenty of bars and eating houses in vacinityCannot big it up enou.Best buget hotel i have stayed in.
.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Bill J,

Thank you soo much for such an outstanding review.
I am very pleased to see that not only the location, but the staff and the hotel facilities exceeded your expectations of our hotel.
We will be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Belfast.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location for University quarter & staff are generally friendly but while Wifi is advertised in the room as available, it's a pay as you surf service, which is absurd for a 3 star hotel these days. Also my TV didn't work. Also while the double bed is comfortable there was only one thin duvet and no extra blankets, not a happy situation in these winter evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbqq, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear steveDublin2012,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a customer focused hotel I am saddened to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us at Ibis Queens Quarter, Belfast.
In regards to the TV, can I ask did you contact a member of staff during your stay to gain their assistance?
In terms of the blanket, we do keep extra blankets in our housekeeping stores which are available on request.
In regards to the Wifi issue, this is something we are currently looking into, as we also feel that this will be very beneficial for our guests.
I do hope that given the information provided you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future to show our usual high standard or service.

Kind regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter

Address: 75 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Belfast
#12 Business Hotel in Belfast
#15 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.