We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagan Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lagan Backpackers to your Saves list
Lagan Backpackers
121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast BT71HU, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really kind staff there and fabulous breakfast. The location is not very near the city center, but you know, the Belfast is small. You can walk to city center in about 10 minutes. But there are some noise from other customer during the night. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The cooker is really good. We enjoy several dinner there, it is cheap (only £3 for dinner) and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    71
    21
    13
    27
See reviews for
7
31
70
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good location, although parking was on the side of the road and a bit of a nightmare at times, we stayed here for a couple of nights in an 11 bed dorm and something that struck us as a bit silly was that we weren't assigned to beds, they told us to go upstairs and choose one, then let them know which one we were in, however the dorm was such as mess, with people's possessions thrown all over the place that we weren't sure which ones were free. In light of this, when we went out through the day, my friend and I would make it obvious that our beds were taken, leaving possessions such as books and pyjamas on our beds, however one night when we returned to the hostel our things had been moved off our beds and thrown on the floor and replaced by other people's. My friend went downstairs to complain about this and they told her there was nothing they could do, we just had to remove the other persons belongings and replace them with our own. We did this, however a few minutes later the girl who had moved my things came in and was obviously annoyed that her things had been moved, I explained that this had been my bed for several nights and she moved her things to another bed. I was then sat next to my bed with my possessions left all over it when a guy came in and threw his bag on my bed and started to unpack, feeling that I'd made it very obvious that this bed was taken I again explained that this was my bed and he went off into another room to try and find a spare one. I then went down to complain, as by this point my friend and I felt unable to leave our dorm in case our possessions were lost or our beds taken, I was again told that there was nothing could be done.
Other than the bed issue the rest of this hostel was OK. WiFi was good and there was a wide range of hot breakfasts included in the price of the hostel. There was some decoration work going on whilst we were there and the place was relatively clean, just messy.
The only other thing that annoyed us was our experience on the first night, when people were coming in and out of the dorms as if trying to find someone, after a while someone opened the door and whispered someone else's name, before the manager came in, turned the light on and pulled someone out of bed before escorting him out of the dorm. We weren't entirely sure what was going on here, but it caused a great deal of sleep disturbance at about 3am.
I wouldn't go back to this hostel due to the lack of sleep and the fear of losing my bed or my belongings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
My appologies. In future i will be employing a security gaurd that just stand in your dorm room all day incase someone misses the fact that you have pajamas under your pillow and attempt to take your bed.
We will also impose a 10pm curfew so that no one can enter or leave shared dorm rooms. Like in your case where a person getting very ill and me fetching him to take him to hospital at 1:40am after his friend left the room to seek my help. I should have let him die. At least you would not have been discomforted for 30 seconds. I mean its a dorm room as well. How do your room mates dare!.

Again my sinsere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. You get a hot breakfast included, which is unusual for a hostel. Not exactly central, however, it's less than a 5 minute walk to the centre. Less than 2 minutes from good coffee, meals and decent bars. The lovely staff and good location will have me coming back the next time i'm in Belfast

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hostel is on a quiet street that's only a minute walk away from some great attractions. The staff is super friendly and helpful - upon arriving I had to get to an ER, they checked to see if the nearest one was still open, and made sure to check in with me several times after I returned. They made the stressful situation so much simpler. On top of that they have showers with very hot water and great water pressure. After weeks of travel I was in heaven taking a shower!!

Room Tip: They let you see the room and choose what bed you want, which is way better than just being assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I loved the location (not so central but close to nice places) and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was also good. The big bad point was the state of our room, VERY humid and mouldy and not so clean, the same about the bathroom. I know it's a great price and there are good things but you just don't feel good in such a room in the middle of the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Really this is a real Review? The review below you complain about the rooms being to cold. And like you have never used the site before and this is a first review as well. Yoiu guys get a life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff in this run-down hostel. Our room was freezing. Very noisy at night, too. There was ony 1 shower in working order. 25€ pp is too expensive for this. Go elsewhere if possible. Poor value for money, cold rooms and 1 hot shower to share among 3 floors of rooms!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Really this is a reall Review? The review above you complain about the rooms being to humid!!!! For you is to cold with one shower when there is 7 in the hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After reading the reviews online, I was real disapointed on my stay here. I found the house to be a little dingy and dirty and the mattress was too soft for me and didnt fit my bed right. But you get what you pay for, right? The local area was quiet though and there was a good opportunity to meet people.
I think maybe if i return to belfast i would stay closer to the centre. Maybe if there were improvements here i may return as the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagan Backpackers

Address: 121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast BT71HU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included is a FREE English Breakfast that includes Bacon, Sausage, egg, beans and toast. Or Porridge or scrambled eggs and bacon. Please note breakfast is strictly between 8 and 10 with no exceptions. All breakfast served only with coffee or tea. Lagan Backpackers is simply a large Belfast house that has been converted into a Backpackers Hostel; and it is owned and run by a South African guy who knows what backpackers want. Our high ratings are mostly due to the great attention and recommendations that you can expect from both myself and my staff. My idea for a great hostel is very simple: to make you feel at home. To give you a comfortable bed to sleep in, to keep the noise down after eleven to ensure a peaceful sleep and to make you feel so at home that you make new friends and enjoy Belfast as much as possible. We provide advice on all tours of Northern Ireland, and will only recommend tours that we have personally experienced. We advise that our customers do not pre-book tours before visiting as we find that some tour operators overcharge and do not provide the level of customer satisfaction that we expect for our guests. In addition to this, Lagan Backpackers hostel is very friendly to single travellers, as we go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. We are located minutes from the City Centre, the Lagan River and the picturesque Queens University campus; and mere moments away from the lively Botanic Avenue where there are many restaurants, shops, pubs and clubs for our customers to enjoy. Additionally, the Botanical Gardens that boast beautiful greenhouses and the famed Tropical Ravine is a short walk away, adjacent to the Ulster Museum. Our staff are friendly and eager to help with any enquiries our customers have about which places to visit in the area, the history of Belfast, or even just the best pub to enjoy a pint of Guinness. We are on hand to provide personal recommendations for popular tourist attractions and tours of Northern Ireland, and are more than happy to organise and book these tours for our guests. Lagan Backpackers has a very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere; as our main aim is to ensure our guests feel very much at home. We have full kitchen facilities and a cosy common area where people can eat, relax in front of the television or chat and make new friends. Free tea and coffee for our guests throughout the day. There are also laundry services available for a small fee. Wireless internet access available for a small fee. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one. Bookings for same day as arrival will only be accepted up to 6pm.** Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs. This is non-negotiable, as Lagan Backpackers needs to ensure the complete security and comfort of all of its guests. Reception is open until 11pm, however if you require a later check-in please contact us ** No groups, stag parties, hen parties or drunken weekends like Paddys day!! Please remember only for the 11,12,13,14 July I do not accept booking from people from the UK (England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales..also no American or Canadian band members). This is only for the marching season. No refunds on deposits will be given and you will be turned away on arrival. No stag or hen parties or groups without prior permission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lagan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagan Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.