We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Bistro

Ginger Bistro
7-8 Hope Street, Belfast BT12 5EE , Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
028 90244421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 778 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived quite late in this restaurant, but it was no problem and we never had the feeling we had to hurry. So we also enjoyed the most delicious desert: the chocolate cake with a soft centre, yummie!! The mains and the wine were lovely too. Good to know that they use fresh and local ingredients. Combined with a friendly athmosphere and nice music on the background I can really recommend Ginger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    166
    43
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stumpled across this lovely little bistro whilst on a break to Belfast.
It's a bit tucked away down a side street but we were so glad we found
it, the food and service was excellent, the only problem we had was not
having a long enough stay in order to visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“funky spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Second time at this neat little restaurant just off what was once the Golden Mile in downtown Belfast and well pleased. Lots of fresh fish and organic stuff. Had the sea bream and it was great. Others in the company has sea bass and again were well satisfied. A good wine list without being too silly, processor. Great staff. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect mix between top class food and casual style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I don't like dressing like a penguin to go for a great meal, but I like top class food and I have no problems paying good money for it. Let me say that Ginger Bistro is the perfect place for that.

I booked on a Monday night (my birthday) with my gf and I'm glad I did, cause the place became packed 10 minutes after we sat down: we thought that if it happens on a normal Monday it must be good. And it was good.

I had scallops, lamb and apple crumble, while the lady had duck, chicken and crème brulee. We washed all of that with a really good bottle of Valpolicella (I always stick to my Italian traditions): great food, great seasoning, maybe just the chicken was a bit plain, but everything else was top class and there wasn't really anything to complain about.

Before choosing a place, I always check the "terrible" reviews on Tripadvisor and I can't believe people complained about the absence of stuff to choose from: the first rule about a good restaurant menu is to keep it short and simple (that's how the chef focuses on making great food). At the same time I can't believe someone would complain because the staff is "in their face": would you prefer to be left alone the whole evening with no one asking you if you need something?

Just a request to the person running the restaurant page here: it's kind of impossible to keep the bill between 12-20 cause there's simply too much good stuff to try. I ended up paying
85 pounds for both of us and it was definitely very well spent money.

Oh yeah, I forgot to say that I loved the fact that they were playing (at a reasonable volume) good music in there: who else likes The Clash here?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed a really excellent meal here, both starters of scallops and duck were great, my main dish of seabass was outstanding. Throughout staff were extremely attentive and welcoming, making a lovely cocktail for us even though they do not have a list. Would recommend and hope to return soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Bistro also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ginger Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.