We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Bistro

Ginger Bistro
7-8 Hope Street, Belfast BT12 5EE , Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
028 90244421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 732 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“funky spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Second time at this neat little restaurant just off what was once the Golden Mile in downtown Belfast and well pleased. Lots of fresh fish and organic stuff. Had the sea bream and it was great. Others in the company has sea bass and again were well satisfied. A good wine list without being too silly, processor. Great staff. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    187
    50
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect mix between top class food and casual style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I don't like dressing like a penguin to go for a great meal, but I like top class food and I have no problems paying good money for it. Let me say that Ginger Bistro is the perfect place for that.

I booked on a Monday night (my birthday) with my gf and I'm glad I did, cause the place became packed 10 minutes after we sat down: we thought that if it happens on a normal Monday it must be good. And it was good.

I had scallops, lamb and apple crumble, while the lady had duck, chicken and crème brulee. We washed all of that with a really good bottle of Valpolicella (I always stick to my Italian traditions): great food, great seasoning, maybe just the chicken was a bit plain, but everything else was top class and there wasn't really anything to complain about.

Before choosing a place, I always check the "terrible" reviews on Tripadvisor and I can't believe people complained about the absence of stuff to choose from: the first rule about a good restaurant menu is to keep it short and simple (that's how the chef focuses on making great food). At the same time I can't believe someone would complain because the staff is "in their face": would you prefer to be left alone the whole evening with no one asking you if you need something?

Just a request to the person running the restaurant page here: it's kind of impossible to keep the bill between 12-20 cause there's simply too much good stuff to try. I ended up paying
85 pounds for both of us and it was definitely very well spent money.

Oh yeah, I forgot to say that I loved the fact that they were playing (at a reasonable volume) good music in there: who else likes The Clash here?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed a really excellent meal here, both starters of scallops and duck were great, my main dish of seabass was outstanding. Throughout staff were extremely attentive and welcoming, making a lovely cocktail for us even though they do not have a list. Would recommend and hope to return soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wanted somewhere nice for our wedding anniversary and picked this based on the reviews on here. We were not disappointed. The food was lovely. I am vegetarian and there were proper vegetarian options on the menu, not just some afterthought. All 3 courses were excellent, staff were friendly, the place was clean. My husband also enjoyed his steak. Happy customers all round

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recommended by a staff member from my hotel. Great service since the whole restaurant was packed and everyone seemed really busy. I really enjoyed the food. The food really had some thought and care behind it. The only negative was my main, chickenbreast was overcooked. Anyway, you should definitely go to Ginger Bistro. A 4 and a half...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Bistro also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ginger Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.