We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value food, first class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Bistro

Ginger Bistro
7-8 Hope Street, Belfast BT12 5EE , Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
028 90244421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 782 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value food, first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited whilst on a business trip with a colleague as it offered a good range of gluten free options. The food was excellent and the service attentive and friendly. The early evening per-theatre menu offers excellent value and a great range of options. As well as good wine there is a selection of beers from a local Northern Ireland real ale brewery which is a welcome sight in Belfast. I'd definitely return next time in Belfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    166
    43
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great buzz and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

been once after a long time talking about it and was very happy with the experience. staff were very pleasant and the restaurant had a good atmosphere if a little noisy at times but the food was very good and reasonably priced i felt. overall very satisfied and will defo be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This experience was just fantastic. Had the best scallop dish I have had in a long time. Service was impeccable and fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a table of 6 last Friday evening (9 year old included). We opted for the Pre-Theatre menu and there was so much choice it was difficult to decide. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Although they do not have a children's menu they were happy to do a half portion. Would be happy to go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not for me- food just ok/poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I feel awful saying this because I know the restaurant has such a good ethos, buying locally/ serving fresh produce etc and the staff are so so lovely but I've been 3 times and disappointed 3 times. The food just is not good- full stop. We had bread and home made tapenade to start - the bread was stale! I had a fish main course which I could tell was fresh (not frozen) but the dish was too salty and horrible. No veg or appropriate sides were included. The restaurant does boast a michelan star but I don't like the food. I'm also the type that mortally hates 'thrice cooked' chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Bistro also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ginger Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.