We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Other Place

The Other Place
79 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT9 7GQ, Northern Ireland (Queen's Quarter)
02890207200
Improve this listing
Ranked #500 of 778 Restaurants in Belfast
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Queen's Quarter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ate here last night.. We both had the specials.. Bacon Cheeseburger with chips and pepper sauce. affordable and tasty! The little one had a childrens meal lovely fish goujons which she devoured. We were however more than a bit surprised at the clearly bought-in processed burgers though given current horse meat scandal and how easy it is to make a delicious homemade burger!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    24
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great beef stew -American style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

last time i was there they were still making chunky 'American' style beef
stew. No ground meat and lots of potatoes but come on,--it's Ireland.
Also, Cash only

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Busy and vibrant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a Sunday evening as it was busy unlike any nearby eatery. Early bird and a la carte menu available. Good size portions and tasty food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus n.i
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic beats them all !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Called in tonight for a bite to eat after a busy day shopping in the sales in Lisburn, we had a fantastic meal , i had the Burger with Blue Cheese and it was very very tasty the meat in the burger was of a high quality cooked to perfection and was polished off very quickly with the side portion of chips .The children both had chicken goujons ,the chicken was very tender and the batter was very light as our girls said eating this "dad , these are the best goujons we have EVER had , Gillian had the hot chicken baguette and not a scrap was left , very well priced and quick service ,we will call in again .My daughters got a badge to remember the visit and we return to Carrickfergus Very happy so all and all thats 5 stars *****.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ignorant old waitress needs a lesson in manors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We Were fine waiting on a table. But when our group were sat on a table that had not been cleaned I asked the young blonde if she would clean it. She was happen enough to help. Later the old haggered waitress took our order of drinks, we finally got our teas and coffees, when no milk followed I asked for some. The old waitress seemed more interested in chatting behind the counter Than doing her job. She turned to another waitress and said "some people have no patients". Which is true but we had waited for a few minutes before asking. Word of advise, if you are going to talk about your customers do it when they are not standing five foot from you. Later the same waitress served our food so abruptly we hadn't no chance to asked for cutlery. Another waiter got us some a minute later and apologized; then he offered us fresh coffees to make up for it, although it wasn't his fault. Later when paying at the till, the old waitress once again was just sour and rude when we asked for a receipt. Grumbled something then left it on the counter and walked away.

We've been to the other place before a fee times but the attitude of this one waitress has really put us off going back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Other Place also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Other Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Other Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.