We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime miss............” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Speranza

Speranza
16-19 Shaftesbury Square, Belfast BT2 7DB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9023 0213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 777 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Speranza (open 7 days a week!) is one of the most renowned Italian restaurants in Belfast offering great food, great service in warm, comfortable surroundings that has seen it blossom from year to year. Established in 1983, the restaurant has become well-known for its first class food, partcularly its home-made pizzas that have literally been the talk of the town. It’s success has been evident as the restaurant has grown from a trendy 50 seat venue to what is today a thriving family orientated 200+ capacity restaurant. With a focus on fresh, local produce, Speranza has always been about the food and with a wide variety of dishes on offer, you can really experience Italian food, at its best.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lunchtime miss............”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we arrived for a late lunch after a day out in Belfast,after a few minutes wait we were directed to our seats and given some menus,after bringing us our drinks the food order was taken starter & main,not long after the main course arrived.............no starter ! at first this didn't really annoy or bother us until we started eating,i have to say the chicken could have passed as white cardboard,tasteless dry and bland.i doubt very very much that I will be back after my experience today

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    65
    40
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private Party - Speranza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently held a private party for my son's Christening in Speranza restaurant and could not be happier with the overall experience. When booking we were told we could have the entire first floor which is absolutely beautiful. We were given free reign to decorate the room and were even given access the night before the party to decorate with balloons and such. On the day the staff were outstanding and the food was excellent. There were more than 70 people (including many children) in our party and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We had requested a buffet for 70 people and the standard and variety of the dishes was exceptional. There was everything from pizza and pasta to bruschetta and stuffed mushrooms and much more. The food was replenished several times and there was more than enough for all our guests. Many of our guests spoke to us about the quality of the buffet. There were also many boisterous children in our party and the staff were again very welcoming and accommodating. A huge thank you to the management and staff for helping us celebrate such a special day exactly how we wanted. We will most definitely be back soon and I would highly recommend Speranza for any kind of private party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

i couldn't fit another bite in! We i ordered the RIGATONI alla CARNIVORA (meat lovers pasta!) and it was unreal! I deff recommend it. My wife had the SPAGHETTI CARBONARA. We also order the a pizza bread starter which came quickly and was very tasty. The mains came quickly afterwards and then then we ate until we couldn't lol We will deff be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time going-great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner here on Saturday night with my boyfriend. My sister raves about it so thought we'd give it a try. Staff were really friendly and pretty quick in taking our order. Food was great and good value for what you got. Was decorated lovely and will definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“2nd visit in 12 months 2nd time disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went to Sparanzas for a birthday party on Saturday evening, 7 of us for dinner. The staff member that greeted us was very friendly and helpful gave us good seats and seated us quickly, the young guy taking our order was very friendly and had some fun with us. Sadly from there on the night didn't really live up to our groups expectations, we ordered a mixture of steaks pizza and pasta, the food was fine nothing really to get excited about, service was pretty sloppy with some of our group being served 10 mins after everyone else had eaten, this place used to be really good on a Sat evening with plenty of buzz but it seems to have lost its appeal, the lovely bar upstairs was not open much to our disappointment. Then the biggest shock of the night, the bill £191 for 7 people for dinner, working out at £30 a head , everyone gasped at the price for what we just had, I'm afraid this is the second time in 12 months we have been here and been disappointed , I was a real advocate for this place sadly no more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speranza also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Speranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speranza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.