We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast

The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast
33-35 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
00 44 28 90661885
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 782 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Barking Dog is a wonderful restaurant. I had the fish pie omg it was was amazing I couldn't get it down quick enough. The staff were very helpful and it's a great place for people with Coeliac Disease to eat out. I am 100% coming back at some point.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    142
    41
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on tuesday with my mum and friend and really enjoyed it, service was relaxed and friendly yet efficient. Food was all enjoyed and very tasty and desserts just perfect. Oh and gin garden cocktail is amazing!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great belfast bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

was recommended to try this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great food, good ambience and terrific prices. what more could you ask for? The goat's cheese, coated in golden breadcrumbs and drizzled with honey was outstanding. would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yet again... flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I dont know where the Barking Dog get their staff, or what training programe they have in place, but after another sunday lunch visit i left impressed yet again by the charming and efficient front of house staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Great service, great food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Went here with my mum for Saturday lunch and had an incredible experience. I had the fish pie, which they served in a wee cast-iron pot on a wooden board. It was absolutely delicious and just what I needed on a bitterly cold day. The service could not have been better-really well-mannered, accommodating staff with a good sense of humour and hospitality. The bathroom was also lovely, that sounds weird but it was so clean, and the women's bathroom has toiletries like deodorant, soap and hand cream (sorry, don't know about the men's!). The honeycomb ice cream sundae was absolutely delicious, and you can tell they prepare all their food well and care about the customer. I will definitely go back and would definitely reccommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.