We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar at The Merchant Hotel

The Bar at The Merchant Hotel
35-39 Waring St., Belfast, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 730 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went for afternoon tea. Very different from the normal meal dining. I enjoyed the quaintness of the food and the surrounding are beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    35
    9
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice for quiet/romantic drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice bar - the structure and decor of this building is really beautiful. The ambience is quite and sophisticated. Maybe not the place for a fun party but definitely a recommended venue for a romantic date.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I deserve this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited this with friends for a quick drink and stayed far too long. Staff are knowledgeable, helpful and the ambiance is great. It is obvious that a lot of money has been lavished on the building (a former bank) and is well worth another visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely, comfortable surroundings. Attentive staff. Delicious food. Would certainly return, particularly for a special occasion.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a great place to enjoy cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in The Merchant Hotel on Saturday 24th November '12 for cocktails, and what a treat it was. The bar was busy but we managed to get seats in a lovely ante room off the main bar. The service was attentive and very professional. We enjoyed a relaxed couple of hours in The Merchant each of us indulging in a couple of beautifully presented and very delicious cocktails. The complimentary nibbles brought with the cocktails were a nice and very welcome addition to our experience. I would thoroughly recommend visiting The Merchant for a pre dinner or just time out cocktail (or cocktails!).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar at The Merchant Hotel also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Bar at The Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar at The Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.