We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast to your Saves list
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Newry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I love this hotel. We have stated here often and are never disappointed. The staff bring us back - simply excellent attention to detail.

The food is very reasonably priced and just fab!

The rooms are very fine.

Def be back to this hotel in the middle of Belfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Napoleon8

It was a pleasure to read your recent review on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you 'love this hotel' and the fact that the staff bring you back each time with their 'attention to detail'. I will certainly be passing on your feedback to all the Management and Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    456
    179
    72
    45
See reviews for
151
912
88
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good room although small. Breakfast was very very good in a lovely setting. Staff were mostly courteous however a staff member in the bar where we were going to eat was quite sharp with us - appeared a bit stressed - we would have come back later but he did not give us a chance to say that - just did not listen! so we went to the Europa instead. Very clean room and with nice toiletries. Sitting/ lounge area is lovely. TV stations seem to be limited and poor. Overall a nice stay for one night. Staff would be best to consider how they treat people - they never know what they have been through - and to cover up their stress with patience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear NomadBallymena

Many thanks for your recent review on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you like the room and enjoyed the breakfast. I can assure you that your comments in relation to staff member being sharp has been addressed and I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked online and followed up with a phone call regarding valet parking. The receptionist was courteous and helpful. On arrival our car was parked for a small extra charge payable upon departure . The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and although the cooked breakfast was not plentiful it was tasty. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Belinda F

Thank you for the lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you found 'the receptionist courteous and helpful' and the room 'clean and comfortable'. O will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a night including breakfast. We had stayed in the hotel before and were happy to return. The hotel is well situated in Belfast, with good restaurants within walking distance ( We went to Mourne Seafood which we thoroughly enjoyed). We asked for a quiet room and received one on the fourth floor away from the elevator as requested (415). The room was well laid out with modern decor. There was a large bathroom with a large bath and separate walk in shower.

We had a drink in the bar which was nice and the service was good. There is a nice lobby in the hotel with an open gas fire and a good seating area.

Check in and check out were both efficient with friendly and polite staff.

The only more disappointing aspect was the breakfast which was ok ... good fresh fruit, ok but not great eggs benedict, poor coffee. Overall a very pleasant stay. We will stay again in the future hopefully.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear RPDubIre

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you enjoyed the service, drinks in the bar and the quiet room. Your feedback with regards breakfast has been noted and shared with the relevant Managers.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in The Fitzwilliam Hotel on a tour of Ireland and of all the hotels we stayed in, it was my favorite. It is well situated in close proximity to pubs, shopping, City Hall and the Opera House. The rooms were quiet, well appointed and very attractive and the bathroom was nothing short of stunning.

The room was of modest size, but was laid out in such a way to make good use of the space.
As we entered our room, there was black cabinetry that held the refrigerator (a stocked fee-based mini bar) and electric kettle for coffee/tea service. Electricity was turned on by putting your room key in the slot inside your door. In the darkness of night, the black cabinetry immediately ahead of you as you entered the room was a bit like entering a black hole. As you made a left, the bathroom was ahead, on your right. Ahead of that was the bedroom.

There was a green sofa on the wall across from the foot of the bed. A long black table topped with glass served as a work station and vanity. There was a closet with two doors next to the bathroom that held a rod for hanging clothing, the safe and two wide drawers that were not very deep. This was sufficient for our two night stay, but might be a challenge for clothing storage if your stay is longer.

The decor of the room was black and white with a touch of light green. The wall behind the padded green headboard was black wood and the bedding was white with a a runner that was placed diagonally across the food of the bed that was green and black. There were black and white checked rectangular pillows that I fell in love with and would have loved to take home as a souvenir (and I can't help but wonder how many of those the hotel loses each year to such impulses). There were two reading lamps and 2 recessed ceiling lights hanging above the headboard of the bed, providing great reading light.

The black and white theme was continued in the bathroom, which was gorgeous. There was a pedestal sink, an enclosed shower and a tub that held a little candle in a glass - I only wish time and energy had allowed more use of these amenities.

The lobby area had several very appealing sitting areas, some with a fire. Everything about the hotel was quite nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodations in Belfast. We went to the Crown Pub that is located on the block (across the street) at the recommendation of our tour director and not only was the food good, but the interior is well worth seeing for the decor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Isb040

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback on your experience at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am very pleased to read how you enjoyed our rooms, the facilities and the location. Your comments will certainly be shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in a superior room with breakfast included. The room was big and had a window area that overlooked the main road. We were on the fourth floor and had no noise disturbance from the hotel restaurant or road outside, it was a peaceful place to watch the world go by. The room included everything you'd expect; king sized bed, good quality linen, TV, hostess tray, iron & board, safe, pen & paper, toiletries. There was a well stocked mini bar and a CD player with clock radio and remote control which was a nice touch. The room also had a good sized sofa and table in it and wine glasses provided. We appreciated the cafetiere and filter coffee sachets and for tea drinkers there was a pot. The bathroom was big with a generous sized bath tub and separate drench shower. Everything was clean and well maintained and of a high standard.

Our breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was of a similar standard. There was a wide selection of continental items to choose from and the option of cooked food also. I had the maple syrup pancakes - a little dry for my taste but pleasant all the same. My husband had full Irish breakfast with white pudding instead of black pudding (which was also available if desired). He felt everything was well cooked and good quality.

The hotel is virtually next to the bus station (15mins bus ride to City airport), centrally located for exploring the city and is not too far from the University and Botanical gardens and Ulster Museum. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear mrsspikes

Many thanks for your lovely review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you enjoyed the room and the facilities provided. I was also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and the choice provided.

I will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team here at the hotel.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

About what one would expect for the money. Beautifully appointed and modern in design.

Opera House right next door and a choice of eating establishments all within walking distance.

Hotels greatest asset is the staff. Each employee appeared to genuinely value the guests: Professional without being pretentious; Accomodating ; Proficient.

Good times...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Stephanie S

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a delight to read your comments and in particular that 'the hotel's greatest asset is the staff'. I am extremely pleased that 'each employee appeared to genuinely value the guests'.

I will share your positive feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.