We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast to your Saves list
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel. Room was large, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. The things we didn't enjoy were a) they wanted to take £50 credit per night in the bar, and would then credit back onto our credit card any balance left after our stay b) replacing complimentary bottles in the bathroom with near empty ones c) Some of the TV channels were not working all the time. Would stay there again as it was a very good location for public transport and for the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    414
    163
    63
    42
See reviews for
144
822
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Fitzwilliam several times and it is one of my favourite hotels in Belfast.

The location is great, rooms are lovely, free wifi, they serve an excellent breakfast and staff are normally very good.

On my most recent stay it fell way short of any previous visits and was a massive disappointment. The first room I was given was much smaller than any room I have stayed in before and was right next to the lift with a constant noise each time a lift arrived. I moved rooms only to end up in a room where the wifi would not work. On speaking to reception they were extremely patronising and insinuated that the wifi was down to me and not lack if signal. The concierge came to the room so I could prove there was no wifi signal. The 3rd room I ended up in had a generator above it which came on at 7am each morning and made it impossible to sleep any longer.

So all in all not a great stay. The concierge was very helpful and a nice guy but I found a couple of the girls on reception to be a little unfriendly and snooty.

I am back in Belfast soon but will most likely try another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Ianto Jones,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.
I am disappointed to read that you experienced a few issues during your stay and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you as a result. I am delighted to share with you that we are addressing the points you raised and understand your frustration on the night. I would hope that if you were to return to the hotel, you would contact myself directly via krobinson@fitzwilliamhotelbelfast.com, to ensure you receive the most suitable room for your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great hotel with mostly all round good service. The rooms are clean and have most thinks you would need. Only two pillows on the bed more in the wardrobe but with no covers, I'm sure I could of asked for more covers but really shouldn't have to. The reception staff were great, extremely friendly and informative.
The cocktails at the bar are a must: delicious. Most the bar staff friendly, apart from one sour faced lady that kept pressuring us to settle the bill although we hadn't finished our drinks, this was a complaint of many in the bar that night. Seemed as though she was doing her best to get home early!! Unsure.
Breakfast was delicious, husband didn't get exactly what he ordered the food made up for that though and again I'm sure if we had raised the issue they would of resolved the issue.
I'm just raising the issues so as to give an honest review. However, I must say we would happily stay again. The pros far out weigh the cons.
To finish I would just like to say thank you to all the staff that made us feel welcome and those behind the scenes that keep the hotel running and the rooms so clean which is the main thing we want from a hotel- cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband & myself stayed in the Belfast Fitzswilliam Hotel recently. The hotel was very good, room pleasant and the bed really comfortable.Staff were very helpful and friendly. The only problem we had was at breakfast when to our disappointment we were let down by the cleanliness of the crockery. Quality of the food at breakfast as llike dinner on previous evening delicious, so would someone please check dishes when they come out of the dishwasher or at least before they get to tables. Having said this it has not put us off and would stay in this hotel again, hoping this was a one off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentwater, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good location as we travel by public transportation. The bus depot wasn't far ( 1-2 blocks). Great area to walk to the center of Belfast and the Christmarket. Great bars with Irish music.
The service at the front desk can help in deciding where to eat/ drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent the night while attending the Grand Opera House (next door). We went for the Pre-Theatre Menu which was great value, 12.95 for two-course meal. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The concierge was excellent and helpful with directions around the city centre. We let the hotel take care of the parking and were able to have them store our luggage and keep the car till 5pm after we checked out, letting us roam the city centre at our leisure. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed just before Christmas 2012- walking distance to everything, including the holiday matket. Room was spacious and clean. Staff was Superb, gave restaurant recs and advice for our day trips. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.