We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Save Saved
You added The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
lincoln
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Comfortable, well located, large room WiFi in room. Low lighting in room therefore difficult to see. They intended to lift £109 from our credit card more for 3 nights than the rate we had booked for on booking.com. No explanation. Happened to friends we were with as well obviously a try on.

Very good coffee shop and diner called 'the Streat' nearby in Wellington Place where you can get an excellent breakfast at a fraction of the hotel price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    377
    147
    62
    42
See reviews for
135
758
83
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed in this city centre a number of times and is my favourite Belfast city centre hotel. beautiful rooms and staff customer care is genuine and professional. Absolutely love the foyer, warm atmosphere, but yet peaceful hotel for a city centre. You certainly feel looked after in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In walking distance of all of the city's main attractions, the Fitzwilliam has well-appointed rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful restaurant and bar. In fact, the hotel can not be faulted and it is of a standard that many other hotels in the UK can only dream of attaining. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here last December whilst visiting family, we had a deluxe room with a cot for our 2 yr old, room was immaculate spacious and large, breakfast was good the next morning too, an ideal good quality hotel to explore Belfast city centre, which is within 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

i can not fault the stay we had in the fitzwilliam hotel.from arrival to departure the staff were very helpful and friendly.the rooms were just modern and the bed was comfortable.the bathroom was fab.we had a meal and althought im a very picky eater i found the food lovely..would definately recommend staying here

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pleasantly surprised, first time to Belfast and the Hotel was a great start. We had an all inclusive 4 course dinner, breakfast and champagne/chocolates in the room ... what can I say the food was great the service friendly. I was think when sitting down to dinner .. ok this is where I now see all the extras being charged .. but no .. amazing.

So for two people in a Executive room (very large with real;y nice large bath and double shower) four course dinner for two, breakfast of your choice .. even a la carte, proper Champagne and Artisan Chocolates €230.00 the only extras we had was €17:00 for valet parking and the wine with dinner .....

Checkout the specials for this hotel ... a real deal

My only complaint was to ask for a second set of pillows .. even they got to the room in under 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are quite with large windows and additional room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much, the concierge Declan made our stay with trips organised to all the sights, the Restaurant breakfast is outstanding, special mention to Lauren who greeted us each morning. We stayed in a Deluxe room with magnificent views and a very big bath ... The location is great within walking distance to some nice pubs and shopping. Our stay was midweek and the Hotel was very busy and the cocktail bar was the place to be with lots of activity, we probably stayed there a bit too long... so many cocktails to choose from . the best part of the Hotel was its wonderful staff in reception and the lovely food in the restaurant, next time we visit Belfast we will be looking up this Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a deluxe or studio suite ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#15 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.