We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must of changed Chefs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai

Mumbai
Mill Lane, Swansea SA3 5BD, Wales
01792 402402
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 509 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Must of changed Chefs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Been here many times but this time TERRIBLE
Restaurant nice decor & clean but food let it down terribly
Ordered different meat dishes some mild some medium but seem to get just meat chucked into same sauce full of green chillies including mild dishes
The meat was not marinated at all just seem to be lumps of Chicken & Beef chucked into a sauce then reheated. No taste at all just hot sauce
Won't be going back until either change chef or get better reviews
Also didn't enjoy the aroma of I think head waiter stinking of fags & when leaving same waiter smoking on patio. Not nice as expect he didn't wash hands before serving

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    14
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another visit but this time to try the buffet !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Indian buffet are not normally something I go for due to bad experiences in the past but having visited this restaurant a few weeks ago I was persuaded to give it a try. Staff were welcoming & friendly and we were asked if we wanted to dine on the buffet or chose from the menu, we chose the buffet at £8:50. You were able to make up your own chutney tray, choice of salad and chicken tikka or onion bhajis and plenty of poppadum's, main course was a good mix of Indian favourites well coked and replaced on a regular basis. I would definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Reluctant return visit due to reviews - excellent meal and night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Service was as usual very good, we had no reservation but was welcomed as usual.

Staff friendly and made fuss of my 4 year old son. Meal was lovely and again reasonably priced.

No issues on our visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fab food, lots of space & warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Frequent visitors to Mumbai - fab local Indian with lots of table choices, so plenty of space for some privacy if needed, alternatively plenty of big round tables if you want to be sociable as a group. In many visits over 5 years or so, have only once been disappointed - by very slow service. not sure why, not the norm & have been back lots since with no prob. Well worth the very minor diversion between the more crowded Indian restaurants in Swansea city centre and Mumbles

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service and rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went with a large group of approx 20 waited a longtime for our food. Waiter found it difficult to understand us and had charged us for things we had not even ordered. The manager only seemed to back his man. What a rip off. Never been back since and have passed this advice on to friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai also viewed

Mumbles, Swansea
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.