We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Braseria

La Braseria
28 Wind Street, Swansea SA1 1DZ, Wales
(01792) 469683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 498 restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Friends and I went to La Bras for our Christmas meal as a get together before the festive season. Fantastic food, great value and a brilliant atmosphere. Could not have asked for more!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    68
    81
    63
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Christmas party. Please tell the staff next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

To start the food was very, very good. If you like wine the drinks selection is also very good. However our party was squashed into a very tight space and it seemed that other parties were squeezed in too to maximise profit. Also please tell the staff that it's Christmas and being surley and not smiling does not endear you to customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ate at La Braserie last night in a small group, but were put upstairs with large and extremely noisy groups. It was impossible for us to have a conversation as it was just too noisy. The upstairs eating area has been expanded but the food order counter has not, which meant we had to queue 20 mins just to place our food order. The queue was chaotic and stressful as no-one was clear where the queue ended (that's how long it was!) and as some people were buying drinks also, the waitress asked us to move past them, causing some rather irate comments that we were jumping the queue. Why on earth would you pay anything FROM £25 for a starter and main course and queue as if you are in a canteen to order your food. The main course is just meat and potatoes (choice of jacket, new or chips), no vegetables or salad (that's extra!!!!!) A thoroughly unpleasant and expensive experience, I have no intention of returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent set evening menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised that there was a set price menu (£13-95) available in the evening in this popular restaurant. I chose mushroom soup followed by sea bass both of which were delicious. The soup was one of the best I have tasted for ages. My friends all had different starters - salad, mussels, garlic mushrooms and different mains - lamb, steak and salmon and were all very pleased with their food. The house wine (£3 for a small glass) was very acceptable too. All in all we had a lovely evening and I would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

What can I say all round experience was fantastic!!! From start to finish we had an excellent time in this restaurant. .... with an outdoor area which it would make the evening even more enjoyable.but well, you can't have everything

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Braseria also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to La Braseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Braseria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.